Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This glaze IS fantastic. Had a five pound ham and made half the glaze using the brown sugar and a little powdered cloves. Everyone raved and it is soooo easy. When frying up leftover ham for a sandwich, the flavor is unbeatable and no exotic ingredients needed. So happy to find this, definitely compares well to an expensive honey glazed ham. Those things have become unaffordable to most folks. I am better off than most and I wince at the cost of those things.Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocioalejandra
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. Omg! Amazing! First time making ham. Delicious! I did use half of the ingredients like other reviews recommended and used brown sugar instead of corn syrup. The only thing I added extra was pineapple slices...but that was just a matter of preference. I added the pineapple when I uncovered the ham...and put it in the oven for 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Have made many hams - and this was by far the best so far. I used (keep in mind I halved it) 1/4 tsp of ground cloves, 1/4 c of brown sugar instead of the corn syrup, 1 cup of honey and I actually did about the same amount of butter as if I made the full amount. Basted every 25 mins as suggested by others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made it with homemade maple syrup instead of honey; it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studhauler
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Waste of honey 2 cups too much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Clements
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this just as written minus the cloves. Tasted professional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I tried this for the first time and was prepared for disappointment, but I was pleasantly surprised. I grew up eating the famous honwley baked hams and this recipe has come closer than any other recipe I've tried. My search is over! I'm very pleased with my new honey baked ham recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Ash-Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Found it dry after a day in the refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The flavor was fine/good. I'm just not a big fan of the hard rind created in this process - I prefer a softer and juicer outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Incredible! I followed the recipe for the most part. Out of necessity, I changed the karo syrup to brown sugar and I only had a 1 3/4 cup honey and used enough cloves for looks rather than measuring. Everything else was the same and the ham was so amazing. My spiral ham was twice the size, 10# but I kept the liquid the same and had plenty. I tented foil over the ham loosely so it wouldn't dry out and doubled the cooking time per package on ham. I also cooked the ham on it's side rather than flat side down which is how I normally do it. Half way through cooking, I flipped the ham and I'm glad I did. The bottom was soggy from juice but an hour of basting it gave it a nice layer of crispness too. Basting is key. Also, I have a gas oven and turned the broiler on high for the last 5 minutes leaving some blackened bits of ham and smokiness in my oven. Next time, I'll broil on low. All in all a tremendous success and the best have I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States