Honey Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Came out great! I used an 8lb spiral cut ham. I used 1 stick of butter, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1 cup of honey and just a few cloves for the glaze based on previous reviews. I used most of it, but kept a little for the end. I used an oven bag and flipped it over every 15-20 minutes to baste, it ended up breaking towards the end. At the end I took off the bag, brushed with a little more glaze I had not used, and put some brown sugar all over the ham, then broiled it on low for about 3 minutes for the crispy sugar layer the fancy pre-made hams come with. Watch the broiler it crisps fast. I followed the cooking instructions from the ham since it was precooked spiral cut, and cooked it on 275 for 10 minutes per lb to prevent drying out and it came out juicy and delicious. I served with cheesy potatoes and honey & brown sugar carrots cooked in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was just what I was looking for it was easy to prepare and everyone loved it. I'm a hero
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liteman
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I omitted the corn syrup, and it was still delicious! Got a lot of compliments from my son. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFEESER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I combined this recipe and another honey glazed recipe. Basicly omit the cloves on the ham and i mixed in a small amount of ground gloves with the brown sugar mix I did not sautee the mix at all but did add corn syrup about 1/2 c. Baked the ham in a roaster for about 2 hours, lined with foil easy clean up. So i combined the corn syrup, honey, brown sugar, and gloves brushed ham with the mixture all over. Pinned pineapple slices on the ham with toothpicks and topped the tooth picks with merachino cherries. Poured the pineapple juice from the can over the whole ham. brushed the ham again with the honey mixture. While cooking i basted the ham about every 20 minutes. 1st ham i ever made and everyone said it was better then a honey baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is the best glaze I have ever used. Makes me feel like a magician POOF disappearing ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vexia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I am not usually a person to review recipes, but this was so good I just had to! I made it for a family dinner an all I got were heaps of compliments. I did substitute the same amount of brown sugar for the dark corn syrup, just because I didn't have any on hand. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I thought this was excellent with a few important changes. First, I use brown sugar instead of corn syrup. Second, I use 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves in place of whole cloves. And lastly, I cut down on the amount of the other ingredients. So for me, I mix together 1/3 cup melted butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup of honey and 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg. I'm not a fan of cooking bags (just personal preference), so I triple line a 9X13 pan with foil and baste every 15 minutes. Super yummy! No more expensive honey baked hams for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
We loved this ham. Making it ourselves rather than our annual purchase at HoneyBaked saved us $$$ and tasted just as delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best ham recipe there is! Made it last Christmas to everyone's delight. Will be making it every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Simply fantabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States