Honey-Glazed Chinese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Made this for dinner for myself and my hubby who doesn't like dark meat chicken. I skipped the green onion and opted for fresh garlic cloves in the marinade and used agave nectar in place of honey since that's what I had on hand. I cooked it with the marinade still in the pan and basted and turned it. Cooked it at 375° and then 400° for the last 10 minutes. It came out really good. The skin was mushy, but that's ok, we just pulled it off. The meat almost fell off the bone! Hubby ate it and actually complimented it! Will be making this again as it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMELLIA10482

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I tried this tonight. My boys have friends over so I wasn't sure how it would go. They all ate it and two went back for seconds! I modified by using boneless, skinless chicken breast meat cut into large chunks (eat breast cut into 3rds). I marinated for 3 hours. Followed some other folks advise to add a some garlic and ground cayenne pepper. I dusted it with ground cayenne pepper and ground garlic and black pepper sprinkled over the top before I baked it. I couldn't wait to try it. It was delicious! We served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used the sauce for chicken breast. Very good, I made sure to make a double batch for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I followed as written, with the exception that I did not use Kikkoman branded sauces and I used half of a spatchcock chicken instead of drumsticks. After the hour in the oven, I returned the chicken to skin side up and broiled on low until the skin was lightly browned. YUMMY. I then removed the chicken to a plate to rest for a few minutes. While this was resting, I combined 2 Tablespoons of corn starch with 1/4 cup of chicken broth and mixed into the remaining sauce. I added in 1 teaspoon of soy sauce as well. I brought this to a slow boil while whisking until my desired thickness was reached. The sauce was a fantastic dipping sauce and was also a nice topper for my fried broccoli and fried rice. The chicken was fabulous and the sauce put it over the top. Definitely will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was okay, my wife and I both ate it and it was very handy to throw together in a hurry but I've had much nicer marinades. I would suggest thickening the sauce as some others have suggested, and I would cook the chicken at a higher temperature for a shorter time as it was overcooked in my opinion. (425 for 30 mins). Not bad if you are in a hurry, but if you had time I would go for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used leg quarters and it was done in 45 minutes. Delicious. Wish I could have marinated overnight though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIOVETTI84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
good flavor and easy, would like it a little crispier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I'm doing this for dinner tonight but since it doesn't come out crisp in the oven, I grill the chicken. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This recipe was not good, no one in my family liked it. Very disappointed. Flavor and aroma was too strong, something was missing and I made it exactly the way it said. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby48

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States