Honey Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This turned out pretty good, but I added a whole can of coconut milk (15 oz.) to make a nice sauce, doubled some of the other ingredients (honey, ginger), and mixed in a few different kinds of vegetables and put the shrimp in at the end so they didn't overcook. I served it over rice. It was delicious, and it made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Yum, thanks to the other reviewers, we really enjoyed this dish. I think the thing that made it great was the addition of lite coconut milk. If that was in the original recipe, I would up it to 5 stars. I also decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. because of my kids and increased the honey to 4 tsp. I also added about 2 Tbsp. of low sodium soy sauce. I think this would be great with some nuts like toasted walnuts or cashews. I served this over angel hair pasta since we already had rice a lot this week, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this is quite good but needs some tweaking ... I marinated the shrimp in the sauce ingredients before cooking it in the same sauce ... I've also tried it with a little orange juice added, to give it a little more flavour ... I serve it with steamed broccoli and a rice pilaf for a quick healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Ok, here's how to take a good recipe and make it great (using recommendations from other reviewers and my own) - follow recipe as written except cut back on the red pepper flakes (way too hot to enjoy if not). Before adding shrimp dredge in flour, saute with other ingredients a minute or two, then add 200 ml lite coconut milk, simmer until thickened and pour over warm pasta!! Fantastic "Thai" like meal - even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I thought this dish was AWESOME. I increased the amounts because I had more shrimp to cook. I also added a 1/2 cup of chicken broth at the end to make more of a sauce and served over rice. It was spicey so I would cut back red pepper flakes if you have those that don't like spicey. My husband loved it and he loves spicey food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was quick and easy and would have been fantastic but I hadn't expected the dish to be so lip-burning hot. I'll definitely make this again but use much less red pepper. I served this over a bed of store-bought butter & garlic pasta and it was almost restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Loved it-would add coconut milk and chicken broth next time but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I left out the red pepper since I didn't have any & substituted paprika. I would probably add a bit of red pepper next time since I had to doctor it with tobasco. I used fresh ginger & added a whole tablespoon of honey. I also added a splash of lime juice and orange zest when I cooked the shrimp. To finish it off, I added 1/4 cup coconut milk & 1/4 cup chicken stock. I served it over coconut rice & I can't wait to make this again. Perhaps I will add some peppers and pineapple next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This is a delicious recipe. I find that the ginger, garlic, honey combo tastes great on anything. I used it to marinate pork tenderloin all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
good, but the shrimps really need to be previously marinated for more flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hefziba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States