Honey Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I too changed this a bit, but we enjoyed the end result. I took the advice of some other reviewers and cut the amount of red pepper flakes in half, and also used 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil. I also substituted green onion for the yellow onion, and added in a 1/4 cup of 1/2 and 1/2 since I didn't have any coconut milk. I served this with garlic noodles. The whole family enjoyed the dish and thought it had just the right amount of kick to it. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
the sauce was very overpowering for us, I didnt have coconut mild but I had silk in teh fridge and added someof that, it actually made it pretty good. Not sure we would have it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. I make it all the time and my friends can't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very quick and easy. I used only a teaspoon of red pepper flakes and it was still quite hot. I recommend using much less if you don't like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This probably would have been good-- but a tablespoon of red pepper flakes is WAY too much. Wish I had read more of the reviews since I see a lot of people decreased the amount of red pepper, but the boyfriend and I couldn't even finish it and had to go to plan B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
this was okay but a little less pepper. would probably make again with less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This sounded so great I decided to make it right away. I reduced the red pepper to about a teaspoon but added a little cayenne pepper. I doubled the honey becuase I like sweet things and used fresh ginger as I had it on hand. I also used half butter, half olive oil because I think butter makes everything taste better. I served it over coconut rice and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is my second time making this. I doubled the recipe and the shrimp made quite a bit of juice so I added some cooked spaghetti and left it on until the juices cooked off and it became sorta sticky. It came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
AWESOME!! SoOo spicyy though!! We like lots of onions and ginger/garlic for flavor so I added a whole small-med onion. Apart from that I added less than 1tbsp red pepper flakes. I love this as is and it's perfect on a bed of white rice! Next time just for variation I'd try it with soya sauce and coconut milk! Perfect in every way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Awesome! My 14-year-old made this (with my supervision) for us for dinner and it was a huge hit! I cut back on the red pepper because my kids are not spicy food eaters, and we all really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States