Honey Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
In reading the reviews, I opted to just make the recipe as shown, because there are many recipes online using coconut milk (Thai-like flavor). Yes, it was quite hot-next time I'll cut back to 1/2 of the red pepper flakes. I used 2/3 Olive Oil and 1/3 Coconut Oil (next time I will just use the coconut oil as it is more heat-stable than Olive Oil). Cooked some rice pasta and also some Vegetables with Broccoli, Carrot, Cauliflower. When ready to serve, I removed the shrimp from the pan, added my pasta and veggies and stirred into the remaining sauce. Put the pasta blend on a plate, arranged the shrimp, and my husband couldn't stop raving as he was eating it. DEFINITELY delicious recipe-it will become a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I cut it down to 1 tsp red pepper flakes because a full tablespoon seemed like a lot to me, and I'm glad I did. Served with quinoa. Will either marinate the shrimp next time, or add the coconut milk to make a sauce as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great marinade, need to sit for awhile, I did about 1/2 hour and it could've used a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe needs some sauce and flavor, for sure! 1 T of red pepper flakes must be a misprint. We used half a tsp. and it was plenty hot. I also included a handful of fresh snow peas and when it was all cooked through, added about 1/4 cup of coconut milk. Then splashed a little low sodium soy sauce to give it the savory taste as well. Served over Jasmine rice. Divine! Will make it again, but only with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Very quick and easy to adjust based on number of people and desired heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlavac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
It has potential. I will try the coconut milk next time. I did not like the fact it was not saucy ... to compensate, I added the liquid of a small can of Mandarin Oranges w/ cornstarch, as well as the Mandarin Oranges. I only used 1/8 tsp of red pepper ... firery enough for us. We love shirimp, honey and ginger so it's hard to mess up. I served it over white rice and the vegetable was broccoli. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very easy, quick, and tasty dish!! Followed the recipe exactly, and I will definitely make this again!! Next time i will add more honey and ginger to intensify the flavor! Thanks Mande!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
this is a very good recipe but had to reduce the peper flakes to 1/2 tablespoon and increase the honey to about 4 teaspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
CAUTION: if you don't like spicy food, add less pepper flakes. I added more haha. I adored this and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Good recipe! I doubled the honey (would actually triple next time for more flavor) and reduced the red pepper to 1/2 teaspoon--still rather spicy! I marinated the shrimp in the sauce overnight, and then dumped them into a sautee pan that I sprayed with PAM to cook them; added a dash of soy sauce while cooking for extra flavor. Served the finished product with steamed white rice and some cooked green beans that I sauteed in the saucepan for a few minutes after I had removed the shrimp. A good, quick dish with a refreshing taste of the Orient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States