Honey Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
ok ... wasn't really pleased with the overall taste. Will probably not make again ... have other shrimp recipes way better tasting than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
We loved this! Made a few alterations; added fresh chives, used red onion instead of yellow and added approx. 2 T. honey. Also added broccoli florets. I tossed the shrimp in a few shakes of soy sauce and garlic powder before cooking. Was a perfect combo of spicy and sweet. I served it over brown rice; the rice tamed the spice just enough- but was still very flavorful. My hubby was crazy over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
The only reason I give this 4 stars is because it was WAY too spicy! I would lessen the amount of red pepper flakes to 1 tsp or even 1/2 tsp if you have very young ones like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
tastes great and quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
We loved this recipe!! However, it's important to understand that there are different brands and types of red pepper flakes out there. 1 tablespoon might be fine for very mild red pepper flakes, but my husband loves heat and 1/4 teaspoon is perfect with the type that we are using. You can imagine our surprise when we tasted this recipe the first time! Ouch! It really hurt! Just beware that tweeking might be necessary...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! So simple and my kids liked it. I did use half the amount of red pepper and will probably use a bit less next time. I love spicy, but one child does not. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
My son thinks shrimp is just ok. The whole family (including son) told me I could definitely make this recipe again. The only change I made was increasing the ginger a bit as we are ginger lovers. It was a quick dish to cook & serve with lots of flavor. I added chicken broth to make a sauce per other reviewers so we could spoon sauce over shrimp dish with rice. Really tasty. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a great meal for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This was awesome. I added a LOT more honey, cuz we like stuff sweet, and made rice pilaf with it. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybean1046

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
As others suggested, I cut back on the red pepper and upped the honey, and also added chicken broth. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Yum! I didn't even have time to photograph this recipe because we inhaled it so fast. Cut down on the red pepper and add a tbsp or so of orange juice and serve over rice and broccoli. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States