Honey Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good! I enjoyed all 4 servings myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Thanks for sharing this great recipe! (I gave it 4 stars, since I embellished a bit, and didn't "technically" follow the recipe to a "t!") I added extra veggies (julienne carrots, chopped colored bell peppers) and a 1/2 can of coconut milk, and reduced the amount per others reviewers' suggestions, both hubby and I loved it! Made as is, would likely still be a tasty and VERY easy dish, and as someone else mentioned, it can be embellished a million ways, with additional veggies, pineapple, mandarine oranges. . . I served this over cilantro lime rice (another great, simple recipe on this site)—YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used the recipe as is for two of us, but I did as angfoodie suggested and sprinkled the shrimp with flour and used a half can of coconut milk. I have never cooked with coconut milk before and was pleasantly surprised. I did add about a half of green bell pepper in bite-size pieces to stir-fry a bit before adding the coconut milk to add color and variety. I think next time, I will add a few canned pineapple tidbits at that time, too. We ate it over rice, and it made TWO servings -- not 4! I did not have raw shrimp, so I used the large frozen cocktail EZ-peel from Sam's that we usually keep in the freezer. My husband normally does not like my "surprises" but he LOVED this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
i have to say i make this recipe AT LEAST once a week. It is incredible. i do however leave out the garlic and add a bit of soy sauce (probably 3-4 teaspoons). even without the soy sauce it's still good but i feel it just made it that much better. thank you so, so much for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I loved this and am giving it five stars, even though I made some changes. First of all, the 1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes must be a typo. I put in 1 teaspoon and it was still hot enough to make my nose drip! I also only used 1 tablespoon of olive oil. For the sauce, I also added 2/3 cup Thai Lite Coconut Milk, used 3 teaspoons of honey rather than one, added a tablespoon of flour to the sauce to thicken it, threw in some steamed broccoli and carrots, and served it over jasmine rice. I was also quite generous with the fresh Ginger and might have doubled it. I actually think that this recipe as is should qualify as genius because the combination of flavors is perfect and you can add so many things to make it your own. I'm so grateful that it was shared! It also is very low in calories, and perfect for those who are dieting. Very tasty... Very quick to make... It was a brilliant hit. I will make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good base but I added lots more to make it a meal. Carrots, celery, onion, broccli, fresh ginger, 3 garlic cloves, and mushrooms. Heat Olive oil & vegetable oil in pan and then add all veg except mushrooms. When other veggies are almost done add mushrooms, 2-3 tbl honey, chicken broth, ground ginger, a little terriyaki sauce, pinch of red pepper, shrimp and in my case left over fish. Top with sesame. While sauteeing veg get noodles ready. I used 3 bags ramen noodles not broken (do not use seasoning packets). Boil in lightly salt water only, then drain and add to veg mix. Be sure not to overcook ramen noodles. This serves about 3 hungry adults. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This dish was very good, but very spicy. I took the advice of others and cut the red pepper flakes in half. Next time I will use a little less oil, I thought the dish was a little too greasy. Overall it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALITIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
it was good... but after a few bites became too sweet! if i were to make it again... i think i would add coconut milk like other reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I have been making this so much lately. I reduced the red pepper flakes to a tsp though, a tbsp is WAY too hot! And I left out the onion so it would be quicker. I took the advice of another reviewer and added a bit of coconut milk, if that had been in the recipe, I would have rated this a 5 (more like 500!!). Served on top of rice you just can't go wrong. I'm going to try it with the coconut lime rice on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
In reading the reviews, I opted to just make the recipe as shown, because there are many recipes online using coconut milk (Thai-like flavor). Yes, it was quite hot-next time I'll cut back to 1/2 of the red pepper flakes. I used 2/3 Olive Oil and 1/3 Coconut Oil (next time I will just use the coconut oil as it is more heat-stable than Olive Oil). Cooked some rice pasta and also some Vegetables with Broccoli, Carrot, Cauliflower. When ready to serve, I removed the shrimp from the pan, added my pasta and veggies and stirred into the remaining sauce. Put the pasta blend on a plate, arranged the shrimp, and my husband couldn't stop raving as he was eating it. DEFINITELY delicious recipe-it will become a favorite in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States