Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I do not know how to cook, and this recipe was easy to make and delicious. Of course I had no honey or lemon, but I used maple syrup instead of honey ( no lemon) and I baked the carrots in a cast iron skillet instead of cooking them on the eye. I ate all of it in one night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. My 14 month old loved them! I used a tad more ginger and honey and a little less lemon juice. We like the carrots softer, so we cooked them a little longer too. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Did not have lemon juice so I used lime juice and these were fantastic! My husband & I fought over leftover carrots...never thought I would see that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These carrots were a very tasty side dish. I sliced my carrots rather thin, as some other reviewers suggested. I also added extra ginger, and used a little less butter. They turned out very tender and almost melted in my mouth! Next time I make it, I will add extra carrots, because I ended up throwing away a lot of extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My husband only eats peas and green beans, so after 6 years I’ve decided we have to branch out. I found this recipe and we both loved it (impressive because I hate carrots). I used baby carrots and just sliced the really thick ones in half. I also let them simmer for about 5 more minutes on the stove and was grateful I did since they were still very crispy but good. Increase ginger to at least 1t. Otherwise they only taste like honey. Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Arenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was pretty tasty. I used fresh ginger and also added a splash of orange juice b/c they were lacking the zing I was hoping for, after that they tasted like what I was looking for. Thanks! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These were so good and so simple. I added a large clove of chopped garlic for kicks. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
made these last night. my hubby liked them, and they were easy to prepare. about 7 minutes got the texture just right; firm but not squishy. I think the sauce needed a bit more of something, though not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
As is, I have to give this recipe only 3 stars. Here's how I changed it into a five star recipe: Reduced butter to 3 tbsp. Reduced honey to 1 1/2 tbsp. Reduced lemon juice to 1/2 tsp. Increased ginger to 1/2 tsp. Even with reducing the honey, it's flavor far overshadowed the ginger. Next time I might reduce the honey even further. But a great recipe to build on. Glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very Tasty - Will make over and over again! However, I did cook longer than the recipe calls for. Next time I will use a tad less butter and a tad more ginger. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States