Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Nice change from regular carrots - I used a steam in bag and then just added the rest of the ingredients. I only used 2 Tbsp. of light butter and a splash of lemon juice. These turned out to be very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Used a couple of grates of fresh gingerroot instead of powder and a couple of grates of lemon rind in addition to lemon juice and it was delicious. I served it with fresh fish and it was light enough & flavorful (a tough combination to find for carrots). Husband and 7 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Very easy and a nice flavor. I cook the carrots longer to get the flavors mingle. It takes even better the next day reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were so delicious and easy! I steamed the carrots first, and then added them to a pan to warm the remaining ingredients. I also used about a 1/2 tsp. ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
OK recipe. Made it exactly per directions. Next time I'll add MUCH more ginger and 1/3 the lemon, with somewhat less butter; original amount of butter added a too-greasy character, I thought. 2nd time I forgot about this note, and it was fine as specified, but with more ginger, and better than the orange juice ginger nutmeg recipe for carrots, which I made at the same time (large group of guests). I liked the specified amount of lemon! Tastes change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great taste,I used peanut oil and stir-fried the carrots with fresh ginger. The added the honey and lemon juice and continued to stir-fry until the sauce was thickened. What a treat. Thanks Linda. iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These carrots were a very tasty side dish. I sliced my carrots rather thin, as some other reviewers suggested. I also added extra ginger, and used a little less butter. They turned out very tender and almost melted in my mouth! Next time I make it, I will add extra carrots, because I ended up throwing away a lot of extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I doubled the ginger to give it a little extra taste. Make sure the carrots are cut thinly. We had thought ours were, but the cooking time took longer than we thought. The carrots were even better the next day, when I ate them cold for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
These were just OK. The lemon taste was too strong for my liking, and I could hardly taste the ginger (I used 1/8 tsp). Might be better with less lemon juice and more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
awesome! go ahead and put a solid teaspoon of ginger - this was a great change to the normal buttered carrots I've served in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States