Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
double balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These are tasty. I double or triple the amount of ginger for extra spiciness. Used baby carrots, but they were still hard after 5 minutes of boiling. I had to boil for closer to 8 minutes, and then allowed them to cook with the butter and honey for another 3-4 minutes. The extra cooking time leaves them just soft enough, but still slightly crunchy. I served these with Hawaiian Chicken and Teriyaki rice. They lend themselves well to Asian meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots, but I loved these! I doubled the carrots (sliced thinly!) and steamed them in the microwave. I heated olive oil and honey (2 Tbspn only) in a skillet, added the carrots and then added almost a heaping teaspoon of freshly ground ginger as well as about 1/4 teaspoon ground and only 1 Tbspn lemon juice. Sauteed, served warm - loved the texture of the carrots (not too crunchy, not too soft) and the very present but not too strong flavor of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I started he recipe exactly as written except for cutting down to 4 servings. I added more ginger still to much honey. I had to cut the honey or wash them or something. I heated up the pan and hit it with white wine. Simmer for a moment of course all the fixing they were not as firm as I like but my husband was able to eat three after the changes. I thought they were ok after changes. I gave a two because the recipe had to have changes after I give 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Tried this for Xmas dinner - nice dish, but I overcooked a little as recipe said not to do...otherwise not to sweet not to tart---will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I added fresh ginger to these and it made all the difference in the world. Just a splash of this and a splash of that. I can't stand cooked carrots but these were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
i woud skip the lemon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I love this recipe! I am so glad to find a carrot recipe that doesn't have brown sugar. These are 100% delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are so yummy and something that I would have never come up with on my own. They are still simmering but I couldn't keep my finers out of the pan! I used a 3lb bag of carrots, 1/4 cup of butter, 5tbl honey, 1tsp ginger, and 1tbl lemon juice. I almost don't want to share with my family for Thanksgiving tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were okay. But, like someone else has said, there's a strong lemon taste. I will probably make again, but with more honey and ginger and less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States