Honey Ginger Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Was afraid these would be heavy-sweet, but they had a delicate sweetness that brought out the flavor of the carrots. Used frozen carrots with 1 T. less butter and a couple swipes of fresh ginger. Added a little salt at serving time which gave them a nice sweet-salty taste that I like. A good blend of flavors, happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was a good recipe, but it didn't glaze up very well. It ended up a bit runny, but the flavor was good. Maybe adding a bit of cornstarch would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is a good recipe, but I would add maybe another tablespoon of lemon juice and then add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to make a syrup. The glaze in this recipe turned out very thin (even after reduction) and the carrots had only a mild honey-lemon-ginger flavor. If you like ginger, add more than a pinch. I did and it was good. I'll add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCKELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I used fresh grated ginger instead of dried, other than that I stuck to the recipe. It was FANTASTIC. A great way to make carrots. Much more interesting than "steamed and buttered" vegetables. Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great taste,I used peanut oil and stir-fried the carrots with fresh ginger. The added the honey and lemon juice and continued to stir-fry until the sauce was thickened. What a treat. Thanks Linda. iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
As suggested this was a four, but to upgrade it to a FIVE I cooked it al dente, then reduced the sauce ingredients down to a light syrup. The taste was EXCELLENT!!! One caveat: halve the butter. It left a heavy patina cold. Artery Alert! Thanx Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These carrots were DECLIOUS! Even my husband who is not so crazy about carrots loved them! They were very easy to make too. Will be making these again and again at my husband request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This wasn't as punchy as I would have like. I added a 1/2 tsp. of ginger, but I should try a whole teaspoon as another review suggested. They were good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
These were very good! Although I forgot the lemon juice, we'll make again w/lemon juice. it was the perfect side dish to the vermouth tarragon chicken recipe I got from here as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States