Honey Garlic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Excellent - I've been searching for ever for a honey vinaigrette to match the one at my favorite restaurant; this one finally does it. The first time I made this the garlic taste was too sharp, so now I add some salt to the minced garlic and crush them together with the side of my knife on the cutting board to make more of a paste. This mellows the garlic a bit and gives the dressing a smoother consistency. I also mix the honey, apple cider vinegar and garlic together first, then add the oil while whisking constantly (I think this is called maing an 'emulsion') - this keeps the oil from separating from the other ingredients when the dressing sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
My mom thought I was nuts when I started raving about this dressing. Then I made some to put on a tortellin and spinach salad (also from this site). She was in love. The dressing is super easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. You do have to let it sit for at least 45 minutes though, I shook it frequently during that time. It helps the honey to disolve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I love this dressing! I love how simple it is to make and it contains ingredients that I always have on hand. You definately have to let it sit for a while before serving so the ingredients can come together and blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Excellent!!! I added a little extra apple cider vinegar (1/2 cup instead of 1/3 cup). My husband loved it too. I will definitely use this recipe over and over. Thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
A favorite dressing but I add a small spoon of Dijon & tiny bit of salt & pepper. I make this most every week in mini processor to make creamy. Process all then drizzle in the oil. Pour into old cruet & makes me happy. Good on salads with chicken or with fruit. Also a good dipping sauce. Make the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Awesome! We used it on a baby spinach salad with sliced mushrooms, almonds, sliced strawberries, and sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I use to have a sweet dressing that I loved, but somehow lost it. When I came upon this recipe - I was hoping it would be delicious since it used honey, rather than sugar. I'm soooo excited because this recipe is absolutely perfect and couldn't be simpler. One tip - I would use 1 more garlic clove, unless your cloves are extra big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This dressing is yummy. I didn't feel like measuring out the ingredients, so I just guessed, but it's super hard to mess it up! Just depends on your taste. I just used an old salsa jar that I had washed out to shake it up. Very easy...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I found this vinaigrette to be very bland even with 2 garlic cloves. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Supreme, You must let this set for at least 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States