Honey-Garlic Glazed Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This has got to be the best meatball recipe I've ever tried. The only changes I made was eliminating the excess salt, adding a couple cloves of garlic into the meatballs as well as the sauce, and I used homemade garlic-butter breadcrumbs. I also doubled the ingredients for the sauce because there seemed to be more meatballs than sauce. The sauce for the meatballs is similar to sweet and sour, but better. I paired it with this fried rice: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Fried-Rice-I/Detail.aspx My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for seconds. I plan on doubling the recipe next time and freezing half to cut down on time on easy nights. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I halfed the ground beef (that was all I had), but kept the sauce the same, as we like a lot of sauce. I also added red peppers to the sauce, and more garlic (4 cloves alltogether). An easier way to cook the meatballs is to bake them on a cookie sheet lined with tinfoil in the oven. Once they're done, let them cool for 1-2 minutes, and then take them off with a spatula. Just one less dish to clean up. Next time I am going to try to use more flavour in my meatballs - maybe more garlic, and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Looking for meatballs to take to a potluck. Great choice, with a few changes. I doubled the sauce (will triple next time) and added more honey as suggested by others. Also added a mix of teriyaki and soy sauces. Nice tangy-sweet taste, stayed together well in the crockpot... Let's see how the folks in the office like them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
wha!!!!!!!! thought that they were a bit to goooowy while rolling them into balls, but if you think that, just wait and see how wonderful they become...just waiting to share them with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I save my 5-star reviews for life-changing meals. That said, this is a 4 1/2. Delicious and so simple. The meatballs are the perfect texture (and I'm picky about my meatballs) and the sauce is AWESOME! I did add an extra 3 or 4 cloves of garlic to the meatball mixture. I'm sure the recipe's fine without it, but we love garlic, so there's never too much. Only complaint: a touch too much salt. I'll cut back to 1tsp next time, as the soy sauce in the glaze has quite a bit. Overall great! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly for the sauce but, used store bought meatballs. The sauce was good but, a little to sweet for us. I think I will try this again with 1/2 the honey and some red pepper flakes to add some heat! If you like sweet ~ you will love it. Thanks for the new twist on meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were really yummy! Instead of using garlic cloves I used garlic powder instead. I'd recommend this to anybody that loves honey and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I've never been much for meatballs. THESE CHANGED MY MIND! Excellent flavor. Followed the recipe as written. The flavor of the sauce reminds me of General Tsao's chicken in the Wal-Mart deli that you can buy by the pound. In fact, my husband requests that I make my chicken strips and put the sauce from THIS recipe on them. This will be something I make regularly. I served it over a bed of egg noodles and a side of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Awesome !!!! My wife really loved them. I did not alter the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These had a surprisingly good flavor. I wished I had made extra of the sauce but overall I found it to be a tasty different type of meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States