Honey Garlic BBQ Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very good, I omitted the hot sauce, as well as the cornstarch,water and butter. I cooked it very slowly and it became thick and sticky the house smelled sooooo.... good. At supper time all that could be heard was mmmmmm, lips smacking and fingers being licked (not that I approve of finger licking) but who would want to miss a drop. Now this if finger licking good!!! I had guests for supper and everyone wanted the recipe and my daughter who is a Bulls eyes lover said that this is much better I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Excellent base for delicious barbecue sauce. We adjusted it to our taste, adding onion powder, celery salt, and dijon mustard, leaving out the butter entirely, and using garlic powder for *half* the amount of crushed garlic. Perfect! My boyfriend, the BBQ lover, likes it better than the bottled stuff. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
BRAVO!!! BRAVO!!! You ought to consider changing the name of this sauce to "The Best Dang Barbeque Sauce Ever". We did cut the garlic in half and omitted the butter as a reviewer suggested. We also added a tsp of onion powder and half a tsp of celery seed. Don't be afraid of the Cajun Spice.. you could add more if you want spiceier...but it was just enough for all to enjoy. I will definitely keep this resicpe and pass it along. I have been searching for a good barbexue sauce and this is DEFINITELY it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I absolutely LOVED this barbecue sauce! I made a few slight changes: I only used 2 tsp. of garlic; I didn't have any molasses, so I used light corn syrup instead; omitted the Cajun seasoning; used Tabasco Chipotle sauce instead of the hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was excellent, sweet and spicy - a little too spicy for my liking but everyone else loved it. I used homemade hot sauce (jalepeno hot sauce recipe from this site) and I used my own homemade ketchup. Will definitely make again but next time I might cut the hot sauce in half, or use not so hot hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I didn't have all of the spices, and I used some extra honey since I prefer a sweeter sauce. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
GREAT SAUCE !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was the best BBQ sauce I have ever tasted. It's worth the time to make and you can refrigerate the extra to use for the next time. I've never had so many compliments on my ribs before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We did tweek the recipe just slightly, but we cooked baby back ribs w/ the sauce and they were the best ribs we have ever eaten. The BBQ sauce is good, but it gets even better when it is used on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This recipe was great, and so much better than store bought bbq sauce. The only things I changed were to omit the butter and add a bit more honey, but that is personal preference. I used it in the slow cooker with ribs and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States