Honey Garlic BBQ Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
GREAT SAUCE !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
The taste of this sauce is very good, but after adding the butter, it turned way too thick and did not want to stick to the chicken on the grill. Great taste, but omit the butter you don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I added 1/8 cup of fresh chopped cherries, 1 tsp liquid smoke and 2 TBS of onion flakes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was the best BBQ sauce I have ever tasted. It's worth the time to make and you can refrigerate the extra to use for the next time. I've never had so many compliments on my ribs before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I made the sauce though I left out the Cajun seasoning, because I have small children and it would have made it to hot for them, but it still tasted wonderful you could smell it through the whole house. Also following others advice I didn't completely omit the butter, I cut it down to a 1/4 cup and made it a thicker sauce like my husband likes....but it is plenty thick without it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Very good, I omitted the hot sauce, as well as the cornstarch,water and butter. I cooked it very slowly and it became thick and sticky the house smelled sooooo.... good. At supper time all that could be heard was mmmmmm, lips smacking and fingers being licked (not that I approve of finger licking) but who would want to miss a drop. Now this if finger licking good!!! I had guests for supper and everyone wanted the recipe and my daughter who is a Bulls eyes lover said that this is much better I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I absolutely LOVED this barbecue sauce! I made a few slight changes: I only used 2 tsp. of garlic; I didn't have any molasses, so I used light corn syrup instead; omitted the Cajun seasoning; used Tabasco Chipotle sauce instead of the hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The Husband and I are complete garlic freaks, but we didn't like the tongue-burning, eye-watering taste of this. I simmered it for nearly an hour, and it didn't mellow at all. How large exactly is '1 bulb garlic, peeled and crushed'?? I will never ever make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Excellent base for delicious barbecue sauce. We adjusted it to our taste, adding onion powder, celery salt, and dijon mustard, leaving out the butter entirely, and using garlic powder for *half* the amount of crushed garlic. Perfect! My boyfriend, the BBQ lover, likes it better than the bottled stuff. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is the first time I ever made home made BBQ sauce. I found it easy to make and the finished product was SOOOOOO good. I did take the advice of another review and omitted the cajun spice. I also left out the butter and found the thickness to be just fine without it. I don't think we will ever purchase store bought BBQ again. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States