Honey Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Excellent! I was so pleased with this. First of all, this fruit salad is simply beautiful. I used the bananas, blueberries and rasberries as the recipe called for, but swapped out the strawberries with mangoes and kiwi for additional flavor and color contrast. The honey in the dressing makes the fruit glossy - so pretty! As if the fruit wouldn't be delicious enough on its own, the outstanding combination of honey and lemon in the dressing was like icing on a cake. ( I omitted the poppy seeds) Simply delicious. I served it over "Buttermilk Pound Cake" and "Microwave Lemon Curd," both recipes also from this site. I can't imagine a better fruit salad or a prettier, more delicious topping for that cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious - this makes a great light dessert that's very refreshing. I cut the recipe down to two servings for just me and my husband. It was the perfect after dinner treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is the way fruit salad should be served. With no yogurt or other distracting flavors. This recipe is perfectly light and flavorful. Myself and my guests all loved it and everyone wanted the recipe. I used 1 catalope, 1 little pkg of blueberries, half a lb. of green grapes sliced in half, 2 small bananas, 1 pint of strawberries halved. After slicing the bananas I coated them in lemon juice (to keep them from browning) in a small bowel mixed the honey and lemon jiuce as stated in the recipe and then poured over the fruit, mixed well and served about an hour later. It was so fresh and a perfect ending to our first real bbq in March. Will absolutly make this again! Next week in fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I added chopped pecans and didn't use any poppyseeds. I also adjusted some of the other ingredients. I didn't have many of the berries..and they are expensive, so I used strawberries, bananas, apples, and oranges. It was delicious and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine Carr

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
i was suprised hw good this was i used bananas, canned peaches, frozen strawberries, blueberries, and rasberrys. it was the hit of the brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
The dressing for this fruit salad is so light and refreshing! It lets the natural flavor of the fruit shine through while adding just a touch of sweetness and texture. I actually used strawberries, honeydew melon, grapes, and pineapple in place of the original fruit. I'd say any 7 cups or so of fruit would work beautifully. I'll be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Wow - Yum! I don't like bananas so I left those out, but I used fresh raspberries, fresh blueberries, fresh strawberries and a pkg. of thawed blackberries... maybe 3 c of each? I used maybe 10 TBSP of honey and 3 TBSP of reconstituted lemon juice... no poppy seeds as I was out ... It was SO GREAT! I scooped some of the berries in a dish with the sauce, and poured a little heavy cream over it all - my kids (5 yrs, 3 1/2 yrs and 2 yr old twins) all went beserk over this and threw big fits because I wouldn't let them eat the rest of the huge bowl it made, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband and I usually enjoy fruit salads made with different types of melons. I saw this berry salad and made it. It was absolutely delicious. The honey topping is scrumptuous. We both loved it, there were no leftovers! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was completely devoured at a brunch I held for my family. Everyone commented on how good the berries were. Thank you for such an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
The honey produced alot of juice. I don't like my fruit sitting in alot of juice, it makes the fruit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States