Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I did not have a whole duck because hubby refises to pluck (I don't blame him), so I put breasts in a container with orange juice (not concentrate) minced ginger root and honey and marinated overnite (when meat is cold takes longer to marinate). The next day we baked them in the oven and they were awesome!! Hubby now doesn't want duck any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Great recipe.. would use it again. Made a couple of revisions that I think really enhanced the flavour. First, I added mango chutney to the honey / orange glaze. There was a hint of the exotic that my family really liked. Also, I turned the duck over (breast up) about 45 minutes before finished in order to have a lovely dark skin presented on the platter. Oops, one other thing.. I totally filled the cavity of the duck with orange and squeezed the cooked orange juice onto the meat before serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
While very good, this recipe needed a bit of revisement to bring the taste factor up a bit. Also, as many other reviewers have noted, if you cook a bord this size and weight for the suggested amount of time, it comes out dry...even at low temperatures (300 F). Using my method, I cooked my 6lb. duck and it was done within 2hours and 20minutes, far below the time limit set for this recipe for a smaller duck. Since it only takes about 20 minutes per pund for a duck to cook at 375 uncovered, and an extra 5 minutes with it covered at 300F, I used a combination of both to achieve a tender and still crispy duck. First,I set the oven to 375F. Since I was doing a 6lb. duck, I had to adjust all of the ingredients by and additional half. for the rub portion, I also found it was necessary to add some additional spice/herbs since I know that ginger and basil alone aren't enough for my pallete. I added about 2 tablespoon's worth of a combination of equal parts rosemary, sage (ground), marjoram, thyme and oregano. If you don't have a mortar&pestil, you get a simmilar blend that works the same way from the Spice Hunter brand of seasonings; it's called "Poultry Seasoning".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
We always fix a duck to go along with the turkey on Thanksgiving Day, and this was by far the best duck we've ever had. I put a wedge of onion in the cavity with the orange, and that was nice. But the cooking time/temperature seemed very off to me. We ended up uncovering it after about 45 minutes, and cooking it at 350. It was done in 3 hours total, but I don't think it would have been if we hadn't turned the temperature up. The back was a lovely, crispy brown, its too bad the breast wasn't that way... but it was wonderfully moist, so I'm not sure I'd roast it breast-up. Really just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Great flavor, but it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This duck recipe was OK but I also found that the skin didn't get crispy even though it was pricked many many times. Instead it was rather sticky on top. However it was very moist and the flavour was fine. Would I cook it again? Probably not as I prefer a crispy skinned duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
It was pretty good. The duck came out good, but the flavoring wasn't there like I thought it was going to be. And pricking the skin to make it crispy didn't really work for me either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
very nice duck recipe. completely different from the usual orange glaze. the basil and ginger give it depth and complexity. thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I thought this was just ok. I basted every 15 minutes for the 2½ hours. The skin never got crispy, despite many fork pricks. The flavour was nice, but not outstanding, although both my kids devoured it. I think I might try and find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Duck turned out kinda dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States