Honey Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very tasty sauce. I like how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelCooks4u

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used a too small roasting pan and over flowed and made a mess, but the duck was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Excellent! I added more honey and used regular orange juice and just reduced it for about 20 minutes before using it. I also used this glaze on the ham we cooked as well and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was AMAZING! I'll be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I found this was a great recipe to start from. I made my first duck last night, and it was so tender! The changes I made: I sprinkled the duck inside and out with Chinese 5-spice powder and kosher salt. For the sauce, I used orange juice instead of water, the honey, dried orange peel and 6TB unsalted butter. I also added a bit of Grand Marnier to taste--Mmmm! For a 6lb. duck, I roasted breast side up, covered, 375 for 1/2 hr, then 300 for 20 min/lb. with the last 20 min. uncovered. I took it out of the oven, poured off the grease and let it sit for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Great recipe as is. But my ego is so large I always have to take credit for whatever concoction I do up in my house. I used mango/peach/orange juice, added about 4 tbsp. soya sauce and 2 cloves of garlic to the marinade. I also roasted the "innards", splashed a shot of cognac on them and boiled them in the same juice mentioned above with some onions, celery tops, bayleaves, garlic and ginger for gravy. It was absolutely fabulous. You could use white wine or scotch in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I had never made duck before, so I might have not done it right, but it was kinda tough and the skin never got crispy. The flavor, however was excellent and I will try and make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Great recipe if you want to cover up the duck flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I found this recipe to be time-consuming for a "just o.k." result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was the first time we had ever even eaten duck...(well most of us) it was a wonderful substitute for the over worked turkey that comes around on holidays. I made my own mango chutney which included fresh ginger root and honey vinegar and nutmeg, cloves,cinnamon fresh herbs like basil and some brown sugar and stuffed the inside of (both ducks) with the chutney and orange 1/4's. I made the glaze (suggested here) and it was beautiful!!! I even made an orange mango gravy that was rich in flavor of fresh fruits and herbs. I will definately use this recipe again and again and again...It came out perfectly cooked and tender after two hours and a half (they were 5 lb ducks!). THANK YOU for this amazing new addition to our holiday tradiotion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States