Honey Crunch Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This is amazing! I made this for a pot-luck at church and it was gone. People asked for the recipe. Just finding this recipe again makes me want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Loved it. Definately rivalled the famous goode company pecan pie. The only thing was I found the vinegar in teh crust to smell and taste stronger than I expected. Don't know if that was just something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was very good, I loved it. I think it would have been even better with a little bit more honey crunch on the top, but overall it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I have made this 4-5 times now. Very easy and tastes so good! This is my husband's favourite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
i make this every thanksgiving...and every thanksgiving it gets rave reviews. i could eat just the honey pecans off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I absolutely love pecan pie. This version is no exception. The crust was a little heavy but not too overpowering. Otherwise, the honey and the bourbon are excellent additions to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The absolute BEST pecan pie. Make extra honeyed pecans for the top, cause they are wonderful to just munch on. Also, I like the top pecans to be roughly chopped, not just cut in half like the recipe calls for. The halved pecans make it too hard to cut into and too hard to bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I received the ultimate compliment on this pie from my mother-in-law, who declared it the best pecan pie she had ever eaten--and she has always made THE BEST pecan pies! My husband also declared it the best, even though he loved the recipe I used to use. This recipe has a very similar filling to my recipe, but the topping, as amyt's review stated before, is what puts it above all the others. I used brown sugar in the filling, as well as brown sugar Karo for the corn syrup; I used about 1-1/4 cups pecans altogether; and I did add the bourbon (and loved it!) I will add less salt next time, maybe 1/4 teaspoon, because I thought it tasted too salty, but since no one else complained, maybe it was just my taste. This is THE recipe my pecan pie-loving husband wants me to stick with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
i have made this pie so many times and thought it was about time i gave it a proper review:). obviously... since i have made it a million times... i LOVE this recipe. the crust is easy to work with and the filling is so yummy... i sometimes use all brown sugar for my filling. but what makes the pie is the topping. the honey topping puts this pie above other pecan pies. i have made the topping by itself to serve with apple pie, banana cheesecake, ice cream, etc. but for this i add a little cream or milk to thin the sauce before i add the pecans because otherwise when it cools it's like hard toffee. please people... make this pie:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have never made a pecan pie before and so i decided to try this one because it had good reviews. I am only 18 but i like cooking and the pie came out really well. I used a 10" tin and the pastry was sticking up about 3/4" above the topping but and i didn't bother about the aluminium foil around the edges because they weren't burning but then i found that the topping boiled over in the oven and made a real MESS of the oven. Next time i will be either using a deeper dish or putting foil under the dish in the oven so i don't have to clean toffee off the entire oven. But i will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States