Honey Crunch Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it didn't firm up like I wanted. Actually, it was on the runny side...otherwise - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I just use a 9" deep dish store bought pie crust. I have been making this every Thanksgiving/Christmas for years now. Everyone LOVES it. And it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscantl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Not only was this the best pecan pie I've tasted, but I used the crust recipe with Grandma Ople's pie recipe to make the best apple pie. Truly awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I was wary of baking this pie, because I'd never made a pecan pie before. With all that said, this turned out to be the BEST pie I've ever made. And the presentation was just as amazing as the pie itself. :) I did add extra pecans to the top second-go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Photo by CLWP
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I decided to try this recipe for my first attempt at homemade pecan pie. I baked it for my in-laws' Christmas Eve dinner and it was a huge hit! Every Thanksgiving my mother-in-law buys homemade pecan pies from the market and this one tasted better! It was not too sweet and the filling set perfectly. As with all of my pies, I used the Easy Pie Crust because it is quick, easy, and delicious. I also added more chopped pecans to the filling to ensure it was not too syrupy and sweet, a common characteristic of store-bought pecan pies. One important tip: be sure the melted butter is not too hot when you add it to the filling, or you will scramble your eggs! I think this was a problem for some reviewers. Try this recipe, the honey-glazed toasted pecans in the topping were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLWP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happywife05
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I really liked the honeyed pecan topping, but I kept getting little rubbery pieces of scrambled egg in the filling. I used my own crust, and next time I would probably only use 3 eggs. The flavor was very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have never eaten Pecan Pie, let alone baked one. So I had no idea what it was supposed to look like, texture, etc. A client of mine asked me to prepare one.. After a million searches, this seemed to be the best one...I was RIGHT!!! I used a pre-made crust, and I subbed one of the tb of honey for a tb of Michelle's honey creme syrup (just a personal preference) I didn't change anything else. It was BEAUTIFUL, and I was told that it was the best one he'd ever had, hands-down. The topping was absolutely gorgeous, and had a great candy-like taste/texture. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNM5683

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Really nice appearance, good taste and it served beautifully - but quite frankly I prefer the taste and ease of preparation of a classic pecan pie. I personally thought that the recipe called for an excessive amount of pecans - one cup was plenty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This pie is the best pie in the world! We make it every year for Thanksgiving. Sometimes I find myself craving it and have to make it for dinner. It is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is the best Pecan Pie recipe I've had to date. Nothing else touches it. You'll never go back to run of the mill pecan pie after trying this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States