Honey Cranberry Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Too dry using dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I added one container of flavored yogurt and chopped the cranberries, as the first time I made the recipe, it was dry and the cranberries were too tart. Once I added the yogurt and the chopped fresh cranberries, I made them into muffins, and the muffins were terrific. They are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
After reading the reviews, I added about 1.5-2 cups homemade cranberry sauce to the batter to help the dryness and distribute the tartness of the cranberries. The bread was moist enough and the color was pretty but the flavor STILL isn't as robust as I had hoped. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I'm rating this three out of five because, like other testers, I found this to be too dry! (Not too dry to eat, but dry enough not to want to make again.) Oh well...at least I used up all that honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Solved the moistness issue by increasing the 1/3 cup of oil to 1/2 cup. But that still didnt solve the problem that this really just didnt taste very nice. The bread doesnt have much flavor, but the cranberries pack a powerfully tart punch. It was edible... just not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was pretty good. Slightly dry but still pretty good. Made 1 loaf and 9 muffins. Will make a few changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I halved the recipe and it was GREAT! I reduced the oats by 1/4 cup to try to help with the dryness comments of others and mine didn't come out dry at all. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Sorry - I also thougth this recipe was too dry. I was excited to try it after reading the other posts. The honey, oats and cranberries were great together it just needed more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I got 24 muffins out of this recipe instead of 2 loaves. It's really good and I'll most likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Very tasty but a little dry. We still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States