Honey Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Really great flavor, but my family thought it was too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Delicious! The honey in the cornbread adds a wonderful flavor! This is probably the best cornbread I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Wow Tim----Instead of raving, maybe the following scenario will tell you how I feel, regarding your cornbread recipe. Last week I'd made a tried and true version, and popped the leftovers into my freezer. Yesterday I tried your version, and proceeded to throw out what I had stored in my freezer from the prior week! Yes, your version was that good! My only tweakings were that I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan, and I added 1/2 tsp salt to the recipe. Baked it for 25 minutes, and your recipe was the hit of my dinner! The combination of cream with the oil yielded flavor and moistness. I don't think I need to try any other cornbread recipe. This one will be made into muffins, cornbread, cornsticks, etc. many many times. Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Hi Tim, I just wanted to thank you for this recipe. I am not known for my cooking ability but I made this for a dinner with friends and they all thought this was the BEST cornbread ever. It was so easy to follow! Thanks again and Happy Thanksgiving!- Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Excellent - it seems most cornbread recipes are either the traditional crumbly dry no sugar variety or are so sweet and soft that they should be dessert. I'd been looking for a happy medium and found it here. I might some day play around with replacements for the cream (since it's kind of expensive and I don't always have it on hand) but I'm not messing with any of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This has a nice, subtle, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I didn't have heavy cream so I had to use Allrecipe.com's substitution suggestion of 3/4 c milk and 1/3 c butter, so it wasn't as moist as it probably should have been, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This IS the BEST cornbread on the site. I will look no further! I followed the recipe to the t, made no changes and it is perfect ('cept I had to cook it longer, but that's nothing). Everyone said this is the best cornbread I've made from scratch yet (and I've made over 5 already from this site with 5 stars and 200+ ratings). Thank you Tim! P.S. I don't get reviews that only give 4 stars when they themselves say it's, "the best". Beats me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Very good. I didn't have heavy cream so used the subsitute of milk & butter.(this isn't going to help my cholesterol very much) May try just using milk, but if it isn't as good will have to go back to original recipe. Will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
will never do this again,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States