Honey Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Wow Tim----Instead of raving, maybe the following scenario will tell you how I feel, regarding your cornbread recipe. Last week I'd made a tried and true version, and popped the leftovers into my freezer. Yesterday I tried your version, and proceeded to throw out what I had stored in my freezer from the prior week! Yes, your version was that good! My only tweakings were that I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan, and I added 1/2 tsp salt to the recipe. Baked it for 25 minutes, and your recipe was the hit of my dinner! The combination of cream with the oil yielded flavor and moistness. I don't think I need to try any other cornbread recipe. This one will be made into muffins, cornbread, cornsticks, etc. many many times. Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Nice fluffy cornbread, not too crumbly, not too stiff. I subbed 3/4 C milk and 1/3 C melted butter for the cream, as I didn't have any. Turned out well with just the right hint of honey, not too overpowering. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This IS the BEST cornbread on the site. I will look no further! I followed the recipe to the t, made no changes and it is perfect ('cept I had to cook it longer, but that's nothing). Everyone said this is the best cornbread I've made from scratch yet (and I've made over 5 already from this site with 5 stars and 200+ ratings). Thank you Tim! P.S. I don't get reviews that only give 4 stars when they themselves say it's, "the best". Beats me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Delicious! The honey in the cornbread adds a wonderful flavor! This is probably the best cornbread I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe. I tasted the baking powder so I'll scale it down to 2-1/2 tsp next time I cook it. I used 2 percent milk instead of the cream. Also, I felt it needed a little salt, so I'll start our with 1/2 teaspoon next time. All in all, I think the basic recipe lays the foundation for a great Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Since I didn't have heavy cream I just used milk and I added extra honey. It turned out great. Very sweet. I enjoyed eating it soaked in milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was the best ever. I had been looking for a sweet corn bread recipe and this was it. After the first bite I looked at my husband and told him that we had found the recipe we will always use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCookof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was a fabulous recipe! I used white, rising cornmeal and baked it in a cast iron pan. It wasn't too crumbly or too sweet. It was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Well, apparently this cornbread recipe can make cornbread lovers out of cornbread haters (Hubs). Have to believe it's partly because this one is sweet, which he mentioned right away that he noticed and liked. I added a minced jalapeno pepper and a cup of shredded pepper jack cheese, both of which were perfect fits for the sweeter cornbread. Nice balance of cornmeal and flour so that while these had a bold, cornmeal flavor, they were still light, fluffy and moist. I also think this definitely needed the 1/2 tsp. salt I added to make the flavor come alive - it was glaringly missing from the recipe. This made 12, plump and nicely rounded muffins, perfectly golden and a little crispy on the outside, moist and tender on the inside - 400 degrees, about 19-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Hi Tim, I just wanted to thank you for this recipe. I am not known for my cooking ability but I made this for a dinner with friends and they all thought this was the BEST cornbread ever. It was so easy to follow! Thanks again and Happy Thanksgiving!- Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States