Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
so, so, bland, it was a waste of honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
They were kind of bland, but interesting. I added the spices recommended by other reviewers, and I'm glad that I did, because without them it would have had no flavor at all. Although the texture of the cookies was nice. As it was though, my husband and I went thru almost an entire batch before the day was over, so there was something that enticed us back for more. Worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
yummy in my tummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I cut the recipe in 3, and it filled out a whole oven tray :) I adored them, my boyfriend not so much, so I'll have to give a middle rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
amazing and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbakerwitt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I haven't met a cookie that I didn't like until today. I am not very picky at all. I made this exactly as stated. I love cake-like cookies, but these are more like rubbery pancakes as other have described. I even added some cinnamon to the batter after I baked the first ones but it is no use. I make a yummy orange glaze, but it doesn't help. The texture of this cookie is overwhelming or strange. I am mad I just wasted 2 full cups of honey tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Not so sure about these cookies. I read the reviews so I am not too surprised that they are a different cookie. I didn't have anise extract (with all the extracts I have you'd think I would, but nope) so I used the recommendations of that first review on the front page to use cloves, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. The flavor isn't too bad, but the texture of these cookies really do remind me of little pancakes. Which makes me think that if you like pancakes, maybe it's a good little breakfast cookie. I know the recipe said not to overbake, but they needed 12 minutes in my oven, not 10, as they were gummy otherwise. I also made a few batches and then decided they needed something, so I added in about a cup of dried cranberries. That helped a bit, but I don't think I'll make these again. Just not quite for us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Not bad. Definitely cakier than I expected and not nearly as sweet as I thought they'd be with all the honey. I used whole wheat flour for half the flour and cinnamon and nutmeg instead of anise, but I think anise would taste great if you have it. If you're seriously trying to lose weight and have a low fat treat, this wouldn't be bad with a glass of skim milk. Or with the whole wheat flour, like I did, you could even make these for a quick, healthy breakfast out the door. I made them because I had honey and didn't want to throw it out. I used what was on hand to make 'my own' recipe of sorts. But they're not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettohara66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
these are not for everyone. i thought they were ok but not my favorites. i also used a lemon icing which i also found on this site to offset the spice flavor and the icing was better than the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States