Honey Coconut Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and full of subtle flavor. When I made it, I used coconut milk instead of flaked coconut. However, next time I make it I will lessen the amount of butter to a teaspoon or none at all. The recipe really doesn't need it. Also, I would bake it for 18-20 minutes instead of the listed 25. Salmon still cooks when you take it out of the oven so it came out a little too dry for my taste. Overall, I loved this recipe and you can put in your own personal touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This was so good. Normally we do our salmon on the grill but this is best in the oven as it makes the coconut crisp. We will cut down the amount of marinade as we had more than half left over. Just make sure you make enough salmon as you don't want to stop eating it! A must recipe for anyone who likes salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
We cook this salmon on the grill and love it that way. Slightly sweet with crunchy coconut. Before pouring on the marinade, I set a bit aside to serve on the side as a dip or spread. That way each person can eat the salmon as sweet as they want. (Just a note about the marinade--since it is butter based, it will solidify upon refrigeration.) An excellent recipe that I'm so happy to add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
If you're a salmon purist, don't try this recipe. I thought I would try something new, but this was entirely too sugary and sweet. I ended up scraping the coating off. Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good! Not as crunchy as I thought it would be but, it was very tasty!! First, I marinated the salmon in a few Tbsps of lime juice for 2-3 hours. Personally, I like the way lime & coconut taste together and the tangy lime played well with the coconut. I discarded the lime juice before marinating the salmon in the coconut/honey/butter mixture. I also cut back on the butter. Baked the salmon for only 20 minutes and then broiled for 2-3 min. to get that golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dez

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I was really disappointed with this. It was sickeningly sweet, and I couldn't even finish my salmon. (And I like to eat!) I followed the recipe exactly as indicated, but consistency was bad (gooey) and again, the sweetness was excessive. Tasted more like candy than fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Absolutely stunning. One of the easiest yet tastiest dishes I ve prepared in a long time! Will be a regular favorite in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is my favorite salmon recipe. I never bake it anymore. It's so much easier to just throw everything into a foil pouch and throw on the BBQ or George Foreman. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Delicious, I added a little coconut milk to the marinade and cut the amount of butter. It was great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmenid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This was fantastic. I will use less butter next time. I had my in-laws over for dinner and this was a quick meal to make. I served it with salad and bread. It was a hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States