Honey Coconut Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I just couldn't justify using 1 1/2 cups of butter !!! for 4 servings of salmon. So I simply fried mine in the frying pan with about a 1/4 c butter. Didn't marinate, just spread honey and brownsugar mix onto the fillets and covered in coconut. I'm sure the coconut would be better crisp, which could maybe be achieved by less butter!! I found even with a 1/4 cup it was a little much. My 5 yr. old daughter really liked it and asked me to make it again and my two year old boy didn't complain either. :) Ours was very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Loved this dish! I didnt use as much butter and I used coconut milk instead of flakes. Also used a little bit more honey than called for. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Amazing! EVERYONE raves over this dish! Definitely one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great salmon dish my husband and I enjoyed immensely during a work day. During my third trimester, time is premium, so it was nice to make a fish dish that was so flavorful, yet required minimal time and preparation. This is also a great compliment to the dish noting my husband despises salmon. I did add curry powder and fresh ground black pepper to add savory flavors and some heat. I also reduced the butter markedly as I found it excessive and unnecessary. Reducing the sugar (the coconut is sweet enough) and butter made for a slightly healthier fish without the excessive sweetness others noted. Overall, this is a great base recipe in need of minimal modification, but definitely add some curry powder and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was too sweet for me and I didn't like the coconut. I love the flavor of salmon, so the sweet flavors were just too much and ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
this makes twice as much marinade as you need. Cut it in half and it's tasty! I'd recommend adding some salt and pepper or maybe some soy to make the flavors sing. Try it served with Coconut Jasmine rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I love salmon but my husband and son do not. They did, however, like this salmon. It was very sweet, but delicious. I served it with green beans and smashed potatoes...very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Once your guests get over the strange combination of fish and sweetness, they will love this dish. It's amazing and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The flavors just did not mesh well. The thought was good. The butter was WAY too much even at 1/2 cup, which is what I reduced it to. The cooking time seemed about right to me with a quick shot under the broiler to crisp it up. I love coconut but I think in this case it would be better without it. Just use the glaze and it might be a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Did not use butter. Added freshly chopped onion and olive oil, used ~6 tbsp of honey, half a can of grated coconut in heavy syrup, and 4 packets of splenda, for a ~1.6 lb fillet. Did not marinate due to lack of time. Baked at 275º for 40 min. on cedar wood planks. My dad and brother rarely give out compliments, but they raved about this dish! You definitely have to be careful with the ingredients though, because it's easy to make this too sweet and ruin the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States