Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Loved this recipe. I thought the full one cup of honey AND one cup of sugar would make it too sweet for even me, but the finished product was not too sweet at all. To me this is textured more like a snack cake or coffee cake (maybe next time add a little steusel topping?!?). It really needs a cup of coffee with it or a big frosty glass of milk. I dusted the top with powdered sugar just to make it pretty. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Such rave reviews on this cake! I did make a bunch of changes though - I halved the recipe, then found out that I didn't have orange juice or oranges. In place of 1 cup of orange juice, I used 1/2 cup of warm instant coffee. In place of the orange zest, I used lemon zest. I'll make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This was great. it was so easy to make, and i made it lower fat by adding half the oil, and using applesauce for the other half, and only egg whites. and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I used dark fig honey and the cake tasted great !! This recipe has become one of my favorites...easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Light, tasty, coffee-free honey cake. Perfect for the Jewish New Year! Lovely blending of orange and honey flavors. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Cake came out tasting wonderful! Moist and tasty and very easy to make! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This turned out great and I could get rid of some old honey out of the closet! I decided to try using lemon zest instead of orange and it worked out well. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
this was an easy cake to make. I made one mistake of using the qwrong sized tin, and some of the mixture spilled over, but no worries, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was a simple recipe to make and it worked out great - really light and moist. No problems with timings as other reviews stated - i just kept an eye on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States