Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Such rave reviews on this cake! I did make a bunch of changes though - I halved the recipe, then found out that I didn't have orange juice or oranges. In place of 1 cup of orange juice, I used 1/2 cup of warm instant coffee. In place of the orange zest, I used lemon zest. I'll make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was a simple recipe to make and it worked out great - really light and moist. No problems with timings as other reviews stated - i just kept an eye on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and I found it works well served with coffee and a drizzle of honey on top. The cinnamon and orange flavors are very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I hate to give low ratings, but something happened with this cake that I'm still trying to figure out. First, like others have stated, the given cook time is way too long. I had my cake in for 32 minutes and it was burnt on the edges and some of the top. Also, the cake came out totally deformed, sunk and shriveled in the middle, and puffed along parts of the sides. It could have been something I've done, and although the cake itself didn't taste bad, it just didn't suit our tastes. It did smell lovely while baking though. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Moist, good texture, easy to make, but the flavors don't stand out. It's just okay. If you decide to try it, make sure you watch the time closely. I used 9x13 glass baking dish and it was done in 35 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is tasty, and easy to make, but keep an eye on it as it bakes. The first time I tried it, I baked it at 350 for 37 minutes, and it was overdone along the edges and the bottom. I tried it again at 340 for 33 minutes, and it was very good. I topped it with a simple confectioner's sugar/orange juice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was the best, I had to do a cooking project for English, and al of my class mates LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Really easy recipe. Taste was great, a little sweet. The texture was on the heavy side fofr a cake. This reminded me of a pumpkin bread, believe it or not!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a good recipe to make with children. I made this with preschoolers and it was easy, delicious and moist. I didn't sift it, just mixed it together. I made muffins instead of cake. It took about 25 min. until a toothpick came out clean. At first it seemed too moist but it came out fine when cooked long enough.I put extra cinn. in and 1/2 to 1 teaspoon van. I didn't measure the van. Everyone love it. I made it for the Jewish New Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
this was an easy cake to make. I made one mistake of using the qwrong sized tin, and some of the mixture spilled over, but no worries, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States