Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
i honestly didn't want to make this, but it was very tasty, not dry and i will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe as directed except I omitted the orange zest (I had no fresh orange on hand). The cake collapsed in the middle during baking (I baked for 40 minutes at 350 but had to cover the top the last ten minutes so it wouldn't get too brown). The cake was moist and definitely not too sweet. You can taste the honey, but it's not overpowering. I do think the orange zest is an important component, since the cake lacked taste without it; it was just a tad too bland for my taste, but it was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was soo good. Sent to work with my hubby and he and a buddy ate it all!!! Making a second cake for company. Bake time was a little more but my oven is a little off temp. wise so it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maoneil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this for my class of 18 5-7 year old, with leftover cranberry-apple zinger tea instead of orange juice, and it was great! Made it with half whole wheat and half whole spelt flour, as well as olive oil instead of butter, and all honey because we were out of sugar. My lead teacher was quite impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I made the recipe exactly as given and it worked perfectly! This is a yummy cake that, in texture, is sort of a cross between a coffee cake and a tea bread. The edges get a little chewy like brownies. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I do not like honey cake, but this was perfect. It was not too honeyish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this for a birthday cake during a vacation bible school that was based in Jesus time. The kids loved it - both the authenticity (somewhat) and the taste. We were so excited that the kids got to try something new and different! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This was a little to orange in flavor and not enough honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very tasty cake! It turned out great, pretty moist too. I didn't add the orange zest as I didn't have any. Also, I forgot about the oil, and just remembered to add it in the last minute, just before baking (it was corn oil btw)--still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made cupcakes and they were really good. They took about 22 minutes and they turned out perfectly. The only thing I did different was that I didn't have any zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States