Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I hate to give bad reviews, but this cake was like a big gummy-textured brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Make sure you use a big enough pan! My 15" round overflowed (it was like a school science project, very baking-soda-lava-like, fun to watch through the oven window). It also didn't turn out of the well-buttered and floured pan so if presentation is crucial you ought to line the bottom with a circle of parchment. All that said, it was still a huge hit and not a sticky yummy crumb was left. The OJ and powdered sugar glaze that another reviewer recommended was spot on. I absolutely plan on giving this another go. *************update***************** Made it again (using a much bigger pan), glazed again with OJ and powdered sugar, to rave reviews. It took close to an hour to bake but the color was fine. Lined the bottom with paper and no problems with removal. Served cold with some honey sweetened yogurt and it was a nice touch. Thanks for such a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Fantastic!! Thank you for sharing! I used a little more honey than the recipe called for and not quite as much sugar, also used brown sugar instead of white, but this was FABULOUS!! My husband and 18mo old son ate it up! Will make again and again! A great breakfast cake for sure! I made some orange glaze to put on top! :D I think this would also go well with frosting, depending on your taste and how sweet you want it! lol! Also, I did not have to bake this quite as long as needed either, only about 30min, otherwise the bottom would have toasted! Highly recommend trying! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Changes I made: 1 heaping tsp. of orange marmalade with zest; 1/4 cup oil + 1/4 cup cranberry applesauce, and added an additional 1/4 cup of flour to mix. This worked well. I made another small 6x6 cake along with 9x13" pan with the amount of batter I ended up with, was affraid it would boil over in oven. This was fairly moist. Stayed together well, and iced without crumbling on top. Tip: I think a few dried or fresh rasins would be a good compliment to this cake. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Fantastic cake, hard to get wrong. This was the first cake i ever made. I didn't have any scales and estimated approximate quantities and it still turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This gets five stars for flavor. However, for some reason, my cake didn't rise properly and came out as gooey bars - it's happened to me before so it's probably my oven and not the recipe, but I can't rate the texture. I was out of orange juice so I used tropical nectar, it was a great twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mei
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Came out moist and delicious. You can really taste the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
i baked(but without any zest and with orange/mango juice,that's what i had), for my lil one's 5th birthday and it really came great :)..thanks for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Not very exciting, and the orange flavor that I hoped for didn't come through at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was a hit for our Rosh Hoshanna dinner. The only think I changed was the omitting the oil and substituting applesauce for it. It is a family favorite now. My mother in law hadn't had it since her mother last made it many, many years ago and this brought back all those yummy memories. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RABBITTZOSO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States