Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This cake is good, but not great. It is VERY sweet and a little plain. My boyfriend and I both thought it would go well with a fruit compote if the cake itself was less sweet. One nice thing about the cake is that the texture actually improved the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This cake was lovely. Very moist with a lovely flavour. I halve the recipe and cooked in a 8" x 8" pan for 35 mins and the results were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mawdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved this little cake. Plain, simple and great flavor. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8" pan, and sprinkled lightly when finished with cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made these as cupcakes and all my girl friends were going crazy over them...they didn't last buy one day on our beach trip! :) Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cairocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I am not a big fan of honey cake but for some reason I was craving some but I wanted to keep it a healhty as possible. I found this recipe and modified it a bit and found it to be incredibly moist and delicious. I halved the recipe because I didn't want too much and put it in my loaf pan. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 stevia and I didn' have any orange zest. I also used organic raw honey and organic orange juice. Everything else was the same. This was easy and fast and very delicious. I can't wait to have some with a cup of tea tonight. Perfect for afternoon guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This cake was a disappointment. While it did have good orange flavor, it was very dense and almost a chewy consistency. It got worse by the second day. I'm guessing it's the honey in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinKin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
this cake is excellant,I baked this cake for my middle eastern luncheon at a hospital cafeteria for my hospitality internship project. this cake was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake is delicious! :) It just came out of the over and my bf and I ate 1/3 of it, without even waiting for it to cool. The honey adds the edges some crunch and makes the middle more chewy - a delightful combination. Changes I made: 1) only used 1/3 of the sugar, but all the honey 2) only used 2 cups of flour and appropriately reduced the amount of orange juice 3) didn't have oil, so tried using butter, but it was rather hard to incorporate in the liquid part of the recipe, so I only used a minimal amount (maybe 2-3 spoons) 4) increased the amount of orange zest considerably and would increase it even more next time 5) added nuts (pecans) to half Oh, and mine was done in 40 min. Absolutely delicious and will definitely be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Better than expected. I made it for three portions on Ramekins and used fresh OJ. maybe a little too sweet says my wife, and maybe she's right. Other than that, It's worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I hate to give bad reviews, but this cake was like a big gummy-textured brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States