Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This was great. it was so easy to make, and i made it lower fat by adding half the oil, and using applesauce for the other half, and only egg whites. and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is tasty, and easy to make, but keep an eye on it as it bakes. The first time I tried it, I baked it at 350 for 37 minutes, and it was overdone along the edges and the bottom. I tried it again at 340 for 33 minutes, and it was very good. I topped it with a simple confectioner's sugar/orange juice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Loved this recipe. I thought the full one cup of honey AND one cup of sugar would make it too sweet for even me, but the finished product was not too sweet at all. To me this is textured more like a snack cake or coffee cake (maybe next time add a little steusel topping?!?). It really needs a cup of coffee with it or a big frosty glass of milk. I dusted the top with powdered sugar just to make it pretty. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made cupcakes and they were really good. They took about 22 minutes and they turned out perfectly. The only thing I did different was that I didn't have any zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Such rave reviews on this cake! I did make a bunch of changes though - I halved the recipe, then found out that I didn't have orange juice or oranges. In place of 1 cup of orange juice, I used 1/2 cup of warm instant coffee. In place of the orange zest, I used lemon zest. I'll make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Moist, good texture, easy to make, but the flavors don't stand out. It's just okay. If you decide to try it, make sure you watch the time closely. I used 9x13 glass baking dish and it was done in 35 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very tasty cake! It turned out great, pretty moist too. I didn't add the orange zest as I didn't have any. Also, I forgot about the oil, and just remembered to add it in the last minute, just before baking (it was corn oil btw)--still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I am not a big fan of honey cake but for some reason I was craving some but I wanted to keep it a healhty as possible. I found this recipe and modified it a bit and found it to be incredibly moist and delicious. I halved the recipe because I didn't want too much and put it in my loaf pan. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 stevia and I didn' have any orange zest. I also used organic raw honey and organic orange juice. Everything else was the same. This was easy and fast and very delicious. I can't wait to have some with a cup of tea tonight. Perfect for afternoon guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I was looking for a recipe to use up some orange juice and found this one! Great tasting cake for a luncheon or to drink with tea. It was easy and all the ingredients were in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was the best, I had to do a cooking project for English, and al of my class mates LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States