Honey Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Tried to be all slick and make it in smaller loaf pans- use three. Herd my warning. Otherwise you will spend the rest of the evening scraping burnt cake off the floor of your oven instead of eating this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I love the recipe,but added too much cranberry and a whole layer of chocolate and the cake this time got messed up or else this recipe is excellent. Made this recipe again today as my daughters first birthday is coming up so wanted to gift a few of them to friends. Please check the cake after 32 minutes,as it browns so quickly after that,mine turned out pretty brown after 39 minutes.the recipe is delicious and definitely a keeper.will be making again and again, the only change I made was use butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe with exception of the zest(didn't have any) and the flour(I used 1cup AP flour, 1cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 cup coconut flour) and it turned out pretty good. The only problem is I used store bought orange juice so it made the cake a little too sweet for me. (I still ate it though) Next time I will just replace the OJ with milk. This is probably the first time I've baked a cake and it came out good. I will bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherD-L
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My only alteration was a juiced orange rather than orange juice as I didn't have any on hand. The cake came out great, easy to make, and smells and tastes delicious. Made two nice size loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This recipe is wonderful everytime I make it. The last time I used lemon juice instead and it was truly delicious! The texture isn't as refined as one would like, but it is still incredibly moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Cathie
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this for my best friend's birthday tea, and it was perfect! I made it in a bundt pan, and because I was afraid it might collapse as a bundt, I made a second batch in the form of cupcakes. Everything (bundt and cupcakes) turned out great! The cake was delicious, not overpoweringly sweet (as you might expect from all that sugar), with a light citrusy taste. What a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Decided to make my first cake from scratch today and thought I'd try this recipe. It was super easy and came out very good! Very moist and flavorful. Though it is missing a little something like nutmeg or perhaps almond extract. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
One of the best cakes I've ever made. I topped it with a light frosting with orange zest, honey and orange juice added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Just pulled it out of the oven.....had to sneak a piece to try, burning myself in the process. Very nice orange flavor,with a texture similar to a spice cake (if that makes sense). I made an orange glaze and dumped it right on fresh out of the oven. I agree with some of the other reviews I read-this would be a great coffee or tea time cake. I will probably make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by circusboygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe, but the cake is bland. I know this is a "simple" cake, but it needs something to jazz it up. Perhaps, an orange or a cream cheese frosting...something. Very disappointing - I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States