Honey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This was an o.k. cake. Nothing super special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This was a great recipe! Our family had lost our old honey cake recipe in moving house, so it was a joy to find this one-- THANX! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I also feel this cake is nothing special. A little bit dry. Didn't really enjoy much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Great honey cake. I added ground almonds and served with a milk syrup at Rosh Hashanah. Went over well and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Delicious honey cake - rich and yummy. The glaze really makes the honey flavor pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
It was my first honey cake ever and I was very impressed! I also glazed the sides of the cake too to make it extra moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
The flavors in this cake are SUPERB- but the COOKING TIME WAS WAY TOO LONG!!!! I had to throw my cakes away...they were totally inedible because they were overcooked. TRY THIS RECIPE - the flavors are amazing, just watch the cooking time very carefully- I'd say to start checking after about 30 minutes. I will make this again because it seems like it has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
The Honey cake was superb in texture. It's incredibly sweet and enjoyable! A great choice for Rosh Hashanah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastcoast_diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Tried this recipe the it was almost perfect, the cooking time was extensive, I have checked it 60 minutes after putting it into a oven and it was already slightly overcooked next time I will check on it after 45 or 50 minutes, also the amount of nuts and raisins better be doubled from what the recipe suggests. Other then that, it was good. Definitely will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slava KC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Tastes great! I made with only a few modifications (no almonds or raisins, espresso in place of coffee, and a sweeter, non-citrus honey glaze). Following the advice of the other reviewers, I decreased the baking time to about fifty minutes for a loaf pan and twenty-five minutes for a cupcake pan. Honey cakes are notoriously easy to overbake, but these came out moist despite having less oil than most recipes. (I did have to tent the loaf pan to keep it from browning too quickly.) Will try again with roasted pecans to add crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States