Honey Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great recipe. I used it for a class and it was a hit. I topped it with more honey and ground almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It was tasty but I ended up putting a honey sauce on the top for a bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
The cake came out a little chewy for me. I may have over mixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
i dont know whether its because im a bad cook, or because of the recipe, but it didnt taste like anything... maybe some kind of iceing or glaze would be inorder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alabdull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arad, Muharraq, Bahrain
Living In: Jyväskylä, Keski-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Yummy cake. I made it 2 days before the event I was bringing it to and by then it was a little dry even thought it had been wrapped up. I rewarmed it and served it with Honey Syrup (by Denise). It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Brought this to work and served it sliced and buttered - it disappeared very quickly! Will definately make this again. Thanks Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
i've been making this recipe for the past year and a half and everyone loves it. it has a homey character. it freezes well too when you take the time to wrap it properly.i have also substituted the instant coffee with coffee liquer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Very nice, light and beautifully golden after baking with a good flavor. I thought it was a little dry, but I loved the batter! Not the biggest hit at my open house (apt.), but worth keeping on hand for future baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The cake was a real success at the last Rosh Ha’Sana dinner. I’m usually not too crazy about honey cakes , tough, this one wasnot too sweet, and very interesting, sophisticated taste. I used Turkish coffee by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Very light and yummy, different than those heavy honey cakes. On a practical note, if you have only one mixer like I do (I have a KitchenAid), beat the egg whites first, set them aside, then mix up the batter. You'll have the egg whites to add as the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States