Honey Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have just made this recipe and it tastes awesome. I am letting it sit til tomorrow. I am trying a coffee icing so we will see what the reactions will be. J Toth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-Ann Toth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Oh. My. Gosh! This recipe was such a pleasant surprise. I thought with 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of honey the finished product would be over the top sweet. It's not! In fact, the yield of 33 cupcakes were not very sweet at all. They are light and airy with a yummy Fall-like taste. I used the frosting recipe from Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes at the suggestion of Marianne. Great choice! It didn't overwhelm the cupcakes and was a perfect pairing for these delicious little gems. I will absolutely make again. Next time I'll add walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great recipe. I used it for a class and it was a hit. I topped it with more honey and ground almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It was tasty but I ended up putting a honey sauce on the top for a bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
The cake came out a little chewy for me. I may have over mixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
i dont know whether its because im a bad cook, or because of the recipe, but it didnt taste like anything... maybe some kind of iceing or glaze would be inorder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alabdull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arad, Muharraq, Bahrain
Living In: Jyväskylä, Keski-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Yummy cake. I made it 2 days before the event I was bringing it to and by then it was a little dry even thought it had been wrapped up. I rewarmed it and served it with Honey Syrup (by Denise). It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Brought this to work and served it sliced and buttered - it disappeared very quickly! Will definately make this again. Thanks Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
i've been making this recipe for the past year and a half and everyone loves it. it has a homey character. it freezes well too when you take the time to wrap it properly.i have also substituted the instant coffee with coffee liquer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Very nice, light and beautifully golden after baking with a good flavor. I thought it was a little dry, but I loved the batter! Not the biggest hit at my open house (apt.), but worth keeping on hand for future baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States