Honey Buttermilk Oatbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this bread to eat with dinner tonight and my family loved it! I used 1 1/3 cups wheat flour and intended to put in 2 more cups of all purpose flour. When I went to check on it I realized I forgot to add it (oops) and started trying to add it before the first rise. I didn't succeed in adding then entire two cups, I probably left about 1/4 cup or so because the bread was so heavy I thought my bread machine motor was going to break. It sounded seriously stressed. The only other change I made was adding 1 tbsp. of wheat gluten. It rose to a perfect 1.5 lb loaf in my bread machine. I decided to make another loaf the same night for French toast in the morning. Knowing the flour problem I purposely left 2/3 cup flour out to add at the end of the kneading cycle. My goal was to get all of it added since others had followed exactly and had it work. Well I got almost all of it...probably about 1/6 cup was remaining. I just checked it now and again it is perfect in size and smells great. Next I will try adding extra buttermilk and possibly a little vegetable oil. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Loved it. A little different from a wheat bread. Just a little sweeter but a very good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This bread was awesome!!! The flavor was wonderful. It now takes its place in my homemade bread rotationa!! Thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Nice bread. Soft like a white loaf but chewy and with a hint of whole grain flavor too. I thought it was the best of both worlds but wasn't counting on bf agreeing; surprisingly, he really liked it although he muttered the crust was a tad hard. Very nice, easy loaf. I made my own buttermilk with lemon and milk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMINMI
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Very good bread. I followed recipe exactly but needed to add about another couple ounces because the dough was too dry. The bread is moist and flavorful and baked up into a beautiful loaf. I used dry buttermilk powder mixed with water instead of commercial buttermilk. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I found the long list of ingredients to make this bread a little daunting but that was part of the fun of making it! I was also attracted to the healthy additions of oats, bran, buttermilk and egg. I wasn't sure of the necessity of the baking soda, why dry milk powder in addition to buttermilk or why oat bran in addition to rolled oats. I also used one of my two bread machines, the new one, that I'm not all that familiar with, particularly in what order I should PUT all these ingredients! This was a true experiment, much as I now understand it must have been for the submitter, who remarked that this recipe is "the end result of trial, error and continuous tweaking." Well, it paid off. I really liked this hearty, oat-y, but soft bread. I don't know how or why all the ingredients work together but they do. This is a great bread, something a little different than just plain white, and I actually prefer this to the heavier, more strongly flavored wheat bread. It's a beautiful creamy beige in color, with flecks of the oat bran throughout, reminding you that you're eating something a little healthier for you than just plain white bread too. (Though just plain white Italian bread will ALWAYS be my favorite!) I'm not sure why in more than seven years only nine people have reviewed this recipe - the last review nearly two years ago - but be assured this is a wonderful, grainy, flavorful bread I hope more people will try in spite of the long list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is very good. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I used lite soymilk in place of the buttermilk and wheat germ in place of the bran since I was out of both, and the bread still came out really nice. I made it by hand and baked it for about 35 minutes at 350 in a loaf pan, and it made a huge puffy loaf. Tastes best plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This made a beautiful loaf of bread that was delicious. I made a loaf for my bread-loving boyfriend. He took some to work and shared it with a work buddy who proclaimed it "(insert profanity here) good"...very high praise indeed coming from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Superb! Some of the best bread that has ever come out of my bread machine! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, but still used the "white" cycle and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States