Honey Butter Yule Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very moist, not too sweet. I was able to use the drippings off of the ham for gravey. I smothered the whole 20 lb ham with the honey butter (I omitted the cloves), placed pinapple slices on the top for looks, cooked it in an electric roaster, and basted it every 30 min. It cooked for about 6 hours, and it almost melted in you mouth. Thanks for the suggesstion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good Easter ham!!! My parents, fiance & friends really enjoyed this. :-) If you are expecting a fancy ham, this is not the recipe to try. If you are looking for a simple, honey baked ham, then you gotta try this! Having said that, I did find it necessary to make a few adjustments. B/c this recipe didn't specify the type of ham to use (i.e. shank, butt or whole), I went with a bone-in butt. B/c I was only cooking for 6 adults & a child, I chose an 8 lb. ham (anticipating leftovers). I adjusted the honey/butter mix. accordingly (i.e. 1/2 c. ea.). I didn't use nearly the amt. of cloves called for either. I didn't even need a 1/4 c. worth (and my ham was completely studded!). Oh, and I used an injector, although I could barely tell I had done so (most of the glaze flavor is on the outside). A couple things to note: a) It is advisable to place a c. or so of liquid in the bottom of your roasting pan. W/o it, you'll barely have enuf drippings to baste with. Use whatever you like - H2O, ginger ale, cola (I used ginger ale). b) I had to add another c. of liquid 1/2 way thru cooking (butter mix. dripped off ham & carmelized in pan). c) Always cook your (uncooked) ham to an internal temp. of 160 deg. and let it rest for 15 min. or so b4 slicing it. My ham was fully cooked in 2.5 hrs.& sliced perfectly after cooling down (I set my WS digital thermometer to register 160 deg., but still set my oven timer for reviewing purposes). Try this. I'm sure you'll enjoy it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
OMG! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is really a great recipe. This is my favorite of all I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We loved this. The only thing I will do differently next time is make sure to use butter with no salt. Our ham was a little to salty, but you could really taste the honey, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used this recipe for my first ham. It is honestly one of the best hams I've ever tasted! I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 c of honey for a 9lb ham. Put in roasting pan with 1 can of ginger ale in the bottom, and covered with foil. I only basted it 3 times in 2 hours, and it was tender and flavorful---but not too flavorful. I wanted it to taste like grandma's ham with my twist, and it did! This is perfect for beginners or those who haven't baked a ham before. I'll use again for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDBANKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This ham was SO easy and the taste was perfection! My company asked several times for the recipe and then for leftovers! It makes great sandwiches the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This ham was yummy and everyone loved it .. nice and tender. I did leave it in the oven for a few more hours at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
everyone raved over this ham! i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States