Honey Bun Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This cake is even better than the original honey bun cake, and that is saying a lot because the original is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This recipe is the best. You will get raves wherever you take it..and there won't be any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is by far the best cake I have ever made. EVERYONE who tried it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I adore this recipe...it's a family favorite with all of our holiday functions. I leave the raisins and the walnuts out of my recipe..but it's scumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was soooooo delicious!! My husband told me not to take any to work. I took some in anyway and they all wanted the recipe. One woman made it and said that she just couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good cake, I've made 20 of these cake so far. We kicked up the temp to 375 degree for 55-60 mninutes. I added 2 tablespoons of bourbon(wild Turkey 101 to the frosting to change the flavor on some of them. you can add Rum or your favorite extract. also taste good with almonds or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This really tastes like something from a bakery! You can't ask for an easier recipe either. I made this for Easter brunch and it went first and fast. Extremely moist too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMAREK50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I lost this recipe when we moved & am so glad to find it again. I made the cake this morning for my husband's office & here's what he said--"I had 2 pieces & others had several--it was very very good!" Here are the only adjustments I made: cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup, cut the oil to 1/2 cup, added 1/3 cup water; left out the raisins & nuts. Baking temp of 300 seemed to low to me, so I upped it to 325, then to 340. I think the temp & time need adjustment. The icing was great--I added 1/4 t maple flavoring & 1 t vanilla. Thanks for a keeper Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUSTJEN33
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great! Although, I did omit the raisins & nuts. I did use 8 oz. of sour cream & you may want to reduce the brown sugar a bit. It is for the sweet tooth but it is Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I have been using this recipe for several years and everybody that has tasted it just loves it! It is especially good served warm. The only thing that I do differently is to omit the raisins because I don't like them. Also, I use pecans instead of walnuts, again, my preference. Another thing, I don't use quite 2 cups (maybe 1.5 - 1.75 cups) of powdered sugar in the icing because I think it makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States