Honey Bun Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I lost this recipe when we moved & am so glad to find it again. I made the cake this morning for my husband's office & here's what he said--"I had 2 pieces & others had several--it was very very good!" Here are the only adjustments I made: cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup, cut the oil to 1/2 cup, added 1/3 cup water; left out the raisins & nuts. Baking temp of 300 seemed to low to me, so I upped it to 325, then to 340. I think the temp & time need adjustment. The icing was great--I added 1/4 t maple flavoring & 1 t vanilla. Thanks for a keeper Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUSTJEN33
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great! Although, I did omit the raisins & nuts. I did use 8 oz. of sour cream & you may want to reduce the brown sugar a bit. It is for the sweet tooth but it is Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This cake had a nice flavor and the convenience of a mix. We enjoyed it, but I made it in a tube pan and there was WAY too much struesel filling. Maybe a sheet pan can hold all of that but it seemed like an awful lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This cake is even better than the original honey bun cake, and that is saying a lot because the original is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This really tastes like something from a bakery! You can't ask for an easier recipe either. I made this for Easter brunch and it went first and fast. Extremely moist too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McClaughry Marek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was soooooo delicious!! My husband told me not to take any to work. I took some in anyway and they all wanted the recipe. One woman made it and said that she just couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very good cake, I've made 20 of these cake so far. We kicked up the temp to 375 degree for 55-60 mninutes. I added 2 tablespoons of bourbon(wild Turkey 101 to the frosting to change the flavor on some of them. you can add Rum or your favorite extract. also taste good with almonds or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is by far the best cake I have ever made. EVERYONE who tried it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This recipe is the best. You will get raves wherever you take it..and there won't be any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I adore this recipe...it's a family favorite with all of our holiday functions. I leave the raisins and the walnuts out of my recipe..but it's scumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States