Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. Unfortunately, I used dark brown sugar though. Next time I will use regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This cake is so good and so moist. I added a little water to thin the batter some. But my family and my coworkers had a fit over it. I have been asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Added a box of vanilla pudding powder mix, 1 TB more of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of cardamon and it was perfect. Thanks for this nice cake- also a version of the graham streusel coffee cake here on this site. Only diff is the other uses walmuts and no sour cream but this honey bun cake is more moist and more like a cinnamon roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good cake. I made according to directions except I used 6 oz. plain yogurt and 2 oz. Sour Cream because that's all the sour cream I had. The cake didn't rise much but it was very tasty. Next time I'll use a bundt pan because I think it would be better that way presentation wise. This will be great for a potluck. Thanks Jennifer for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made this recipe once before as a bundt cake and receive rave reviews and requests for the recipe. Baked it yesterday for a bake sale but divided the recipe and made it using two 9 inch round pans. Used the mix manufacturer's recommendations for baking two rounds as a guide. Turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
this cake lasted just 3 days in my house, which is pretty telling. i had made it for a church function that got cancelled so we indulged! :) i had to make some changes due to what i had on hand, such as subbing fat free cinnamon flavored yogurt for the sour cream, and white sugar for the brown in the swirl. i baked it in a bundt pan as many other people did. i wish i would have waited for the cake to cool before adding glaze, because when it's warm the glaze just melts into it instead of forming the honey-bun like "crust". otherwise great - my husband really really enjoyed this. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I got this recipe from Jennifer Walker here in 2003. I've made it so many times I can't even count. Everyone loves it. I've passed it on to my Mom and she gets so many compliments. They think its store bought. Absolutely a go to recipe for emergencies, and know it will not let you down. Well Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this as a bundt cake. Put all the crumb mixture in the middle of the cake carefully spooning it on so that none of the mixture touched the edge of the pan. Baked for the same length of time as the original recipe. Followed another readers suggestion and poked holes in the cake while still in the pan & as soon as it came out of the oven. Spooned on abt 1/3 of the glaze & used the back of the spoon to work the glaze down into the wholes. Waited abt 15 min to invert the cake onto a plate & then spooned the rest of the glaze over the cake. Also, I put abt 1/4 tsp of malple extract flavoring in the glaze. This cake was very moist & was gobbled up at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wow! This came out so well! I made a few changes, though; instead of using a box cake mix, I made my own. I took about a 3rd of the brown sugar/cinnamon combination and sprinkled it on top. It made an excellent crunchy and crumbly topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is a very easy dessert and perfect for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States