Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Super simple and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleystorie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Yum! Really does taste like a honey bun. I don't put all of the glaze on it. Only about half, with even a little less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Everybody raved about this cake when I brought it to a dinner party - everybody wanted seconds (and thirds)! I was out of sour cream so I used buttermilk instead (1 cup of skim milk with 1 Tbs of vinegar) and it worked just fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was one of my Mom's favorite cakes to make--this is a really good recipe but next time I'll cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 or 3/4 cup and either half the glaze or try the cinnabon icing recipe. I'm an extreme sweet lover but this one was a little too sweet even for me without the changes mentioned. My cake was great and very moist but about half the height of a normal cake--did use a bundt pan which I like better than the 9 x 13 pan I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. Unfortunately, I used dark brown sugar though. Next time I will use regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This cake is so good and so moist. I added a little water to thin the batter some. But my family and my coworkers had a fit over it. I have been asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Added a box of vanilla pudding powder mix, 1 TB more of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of cardamon and it was perfect. Thanks for this nice cake- also a version of the graham streusel coffee cake here on this site. Only diff is the other uses walmuts and no sour cream but this honey bun cake is more moist and more like a cinnamon roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good cake. I made according to directions except I used 6 oz. plain yogurt and 2 oz. Sour Cream because that's all the sour cream I had. The cake didn't rise much but it was very tasty. Next time I'll use a bundt pan because I think it would be better that way presentation wise. This will be great for a potluck. Thanks Jennifer for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made this recipe once before as a bundt cake and receive rave reviews and requests for the recipe. Baked it yesterday for a bake sale but divided the recipe and made it using two 9 inch round pans. Used the mix manufacturer's recommendations for baking two rounds as a guide. Turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
this cake lasted just 3 days in my house, which is pretty telling. i had made it for a church function that got cancelled so we indulged! :) i had to make some changes due to what i had on hand, such as subbing fat free cinnamon flavored yogurt for the sour cream, and white sugar for the brown in the swirl. i baked it in a bundt pan as many other people did. i wish i would have waited for the cake to cool before adding glaze, because when it's warm the glaze just melts into it instead of forming the honey-bun like "crust". otherwise great - my husband really really enjoyed this. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States