Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very sweet but good! It would be great with a cup of coffee or some vanilla ice cream to cut the sweetness a little. I used nonfat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream only because I was out and cut the confectioner's sugar in the glaze down from 2 cups to 1/4 c and it was still PLENTY SWEET. Next time I may cut the brown sugar from 1 cup down to 3/4 cup. I made it in a bundt pan and it took 50 minutes to bake through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Made this recipe a couple of times. Only ting I did differently was to make it in a bundt cake pan. Turned out great! Lots of compliments on it. It is definitely more of a coffee cake, than a dessert cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4carolinas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious - made it in a 9X13 pan and it worked out great...hardly any leftovers! And I've already got bids on those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this for my first dinner party and served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Although i had only four guests it was gone in less than fifteen minutes! I guess it was good but I was so busy entertaining that I never got to taste any. I will definitely make again but this time, just for my household lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It was very moist but too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My guests loved this just as the recipe was stated. However, we decided that it also made a great breakfast coffee cake and an individual serving could be microwaved 20 sec. and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I just made this cake for Christmas dinner and everyone LOVED it...even my husband, who typically doesn't like cream cheese. I used a different frosting recipe. The batter was a lot thicker than expected, and I did a sheet cake. It was a little hard to spread the second layer of cake after I did the brown sugar cinnamon mixture. I think it would be a lot easier in a bundt pan, and next time I'll do that, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used a Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Orange Supreme 18.25 oz cake mix. Since my family likes things extra-sweet, I added 1/2 cup white sugar to the batter as indicated by the other honey bun cake recipe on here & an extra teaspoon of cinnamon @ 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the brown sugar mixture. I put 1/2 the brown sugar/cinnamon/nut mix to the center, then the other 1/2 on the top (which will become the bottom of the bundt cake). Baked it at time & temp indicated in this recipe, but had to increase temp to 350 & bake an additional 30 minutes more to get it to finish (due to the increase in fluid via the sugar added to the cake mixture). For the icing, instead of milk & vanilla extract, I used the juice from 2 small oranges & about a tablespoon of butter. I also had to use a little more than 2 cups powdered sugar to get it to thicken. But in my family, the more icing, the better. This was a big hit with the whole family - would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this cake for thanksgiving 2012 and everyone loved it........only thing is that it was hard to cut (kind of fell apart, but we loved every bit of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
As I was paging through my Allrecipe recipe box, I was shocked that I never reviewed this Honey bun cake. This is a tried and true recipe in my house. My son asks me to make this for his birthday every year and sometimes it is just a Sunday dessert. Even my chocolate-cake-only lover husband has started in on it. Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States