Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
yes it is Delish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbea09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We thought this was okay. It did taste like a cinnamon roll, but a different texture. It did not taste like a honey bun. I think a cream cheese icing might made the cake taste better as the standard "frosting" (glaze) was super sweet. It was not as moist as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made this in a bundt cake pan. Make sure you let it cool 15-20 minutes before trying to flip it over out of the pan! Otherwise, the bottom layer will stick in the pan! Also, you can definitely get by with using less brown sugar/cinnamon and less glaze. About half is needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious! I made it just as written except at my husband's request, I put maple extract in place of vanilla for the frosting. Fast and easy. And it really tastes like I went all out to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Wow! This was awesome - prepared it exactly as recipe stated and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Delicious! Made it for our company who completely devoured the cake. Caution should be used to not over mix it as the longer you mix it, even by hand, the more flaky the cake becomes and I was aiming for a slightly denser cake. Very good, I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm giving this four stars only because the cake completely fell apart. It is a delicious cake, but we had to eat it out of a bowl instead of enjoying it like a real cake. We will make it again, but I don't think I would take this to a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My son LOVED this. He said it tasted similar to, but much better than, the Little Debbie honey buns I used to buy when he was a kid. The only change I made was to decrease the amount of oil by a couple tablespoons because the cake mix I used was only 16.5 ounces (the new size). I also decreased the amount of powdered sugar to 1-1/2 cup and used only 3 tablespoons milk. I used the whole 1 tablespoon of vanilla, but I would cut back on the vanilla to 1 or 2 teaspoons the next time I make this, especially since I use less powdered sugar. My oven bakes everything fast, so my cake was perfectly done in 28 minutes, but 40 minutes seems long. I would recommend starting to test the cake at 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this cake too many times to count. I'm adding to the reviews because I feel like it's the least I can do considering how many times this cake has made me look good. I've done cupcakes, which were a little more work, spooning batter into each cupcake, sprinkling the brown sugar/cinnamon mix in the center and topping each with batter, but they were as good as the larger cakes. I only use DH butter recipe golden. I've tried other cake mixes and I've shared the recipe with others who accused me of leaving out a "secret" ingredient. It's the cake mix. No other cake mix makes this cake taste as good. I baked it for a friend once who pretended she'd made it herself. When her co worker asked her to bake one for her, she asked me to make another one!! Really??? I gave her the recipe but I don't think she made it. Nobody believes this cake can be as good as it is and easy too. It is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Not only was this easy, it was also very delicious. It does not taste like a cake mix. I did not change the recipe at all, but I did use a bundt pan and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray in order to take it out of the pan while warm. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States