Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
i love this cake i have been making it several yrs and know the recipe by heart. i ran out of yellow cake mix and used butter pecan cake mix instead omg! my family was thrilled this was awesome twist to an already great recipe so simple yet so tasty thanks jennifer !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Soooo disappointed! I generously greased and floured my bundt pan and the darn thing stuck and fell in pieces as I tried to get it out. It tastes OK...it was really hard for me to tell when it was done because the knife came out gooey due to the filling so I may have overcooked it a bit. The icing was very unappealing looking and it didn't taste so great, either. I will stick with my fave bundt cake....the irish cream bundt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TyKrisMama
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I did put some of the brown sugar mix into the greased bundt pan before pouring in the batter layer and will continue to do that. I did not use the icing for the cake because it was used for more of a coffee cake. It needs to be warmed up before eating though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chic Lil Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this for my sons and they loved it- said it tastes exactly like their favorite honey buns. I used a bundt pan and needed an additional ten minutes cooking time. Make sure not to get the brown sugar mixture near the outsides of the pan- it makes it stick. I halved the icing and it was still plenty. Thank you for the recipe, Jennifer- my oldest son says he wants this for his birthday cake this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by MssweetTalk
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This tastes really lovely. The only problem i had which was probably a fault of my own that after the sugessted 40mins baking time the middle was still soft so i put it on the bottom shelf reduced the temperature for another 20min. But everyone loves it oh yeah and i didnt add the full cup of brown sugar i thought it would be tooo sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MssweetTalk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hackney, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this for company and had to send the recipe to all! It was very easy and I couldn't believe the taste! I am not normally a dessert person, but I really wanted another piece of this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
A little too sweet for my taste. I would make it again, but would cut the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Too sweet for me, but the kids loved it and it did taste like honey buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This cake is AMAZING!!! It is now my new favorite cake. So good and so irresistible! I baked mine in a bundt pan for 45 minutes. I also added some of the cinnamon/sugar mixture in the pan before pouring the batter. When using a bundt pan, you can half the icing recipe. I poured a majority of the excess in the middle whole, but it was still a ton. Everyone loved this cake!! It definitely tastes like a mixture of honey bun and cinnamon roll! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I made a mistake by cooking it in a tube pan without adjusting the time. So it fell. We end up tasting it and it had a decent flavor. I'm just bummed that I screwed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States