Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. I ate mine with coffee in the morning and it was really nice. I made the glaze and added a little cinnamon and only one teaspoon of vanilla. I made it in two loaf pans and it made two nice loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I also made this in a bundt pan and found I had to add about 8 more minutes to the time. I layered batter and cinnamon/sugar topping as suggested by another reviewer. I also added 2 1/2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. It made it soooo much better!!! It took away some of the sweetness and added a richness instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This cake is good, my 8 year old son loves it, but i'm giving it 2 stars because whoever posted the recipe must have been, um, never mind, but... 1 tablespoon of vanilla? Nope!! Don't even go there. Cook time says one hour, but then "bake in the oven for 40 minutes". Make up your mind. Also, show a pic of a bunt cake, but tell me to use an ungreased 9x13 glass baking dish. The cake was not as good as it should have been, as the cook time was TOTALLY unclear and overdone, and the icing, I had to pour it out and start over using 1 TEASPOON of vanilla and THAT was still way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I am the cook for our family and am 14 1/2 years old. This was soooo good! I didn't have any sour cream, so I made sour milk instead. I also used a bundt cake like some people suggested. I am definitely making this again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I've made this cake several times and there is never any left. This a one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and the cake turned out fabulous!!! I took this cake to the in-laws for Mother's Day and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is teriffic! My 15-year-old grandson's favorite cake. Everyone wants the recipe. I changed the topping just a little. I add a melted tablespoon or so of real butter, cut back on the milk and the vanilla (I think a tablespoon is way too much. Sometimes I add some cinnamon to taste (grandson likes cinnamon also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have tried this cake several times and to no avail. I can't stand boxed cake mixes and I will not make any recipe here that calls for it. I went against better judgement and tried it as the recipe stated and I got a mushy mess no matter how long I cooked it. I then tried it with my tried and true homemade ingredients (for a basic yellow cake) it was awful as well. It also is sickening sweet...Sorry, I don't usually leave critical reviews but this was bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA
Photo by catglaw
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I was tempted to make this as a Bundt, as Bundts are my favorite, but I went with my gut and made this in a 13x9 before school this morning. I made a batch of the icing this recipe calls for, knowing that a full tablespoon was way too much vanilla. My fiance and I both gagged when we tasted it, thank god I didn't frost it first! I dumped that and made the Vanilla Glaze off of this site, which turned out perfectly! My lucky classmates got to try it while it was still warm. It was a winner all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
One of the best tasting cakes...very moist. Easy to make. Made mine in a silicone bundt pan and baked for 45 minutes...came out perfect! Have already been asked to forward the recipe...everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States