Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have had limited success with fried chicken, but I had skinless chicken breasts and needed something interesting to do with them. This caught my eye since it had such an interesting brine. WOW! The brine really was easy and did really leave a tiny hint of sweetness and certainly juiciness. I didn't have buttermilk and scrambled to create some with low-fat milk and vinegar with 1 T of butter whipped into it. That worked well and the breading was perfect (though I did cheat and add maybe 1/4 of italian bread crumbs to the mix for crunch). My breading stayed on, but my oil was a little too hot to start, so I had to flip more than once to keep from burning. Family LOVED it so much! In fact the daughter who dunks everything in Ranch dressing wished she hadn't put it on top the chicken because it was so good without it. I don't know if this would ever be a regular since it does take some prep, but on a Sunday when I have the time to do the brine and the buttermilk soak I'll remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this last night and really enjoyed it!I cut back a bit on the salt and added Tony Catchers to the flour for a bit of spice.I was a bit disapointed in the amount of honey flavor so I gave it a light drizzle just out of the pan.Served it over a bed of arugula.The sweet honey and the spice of the arugula was a very tasty combination. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
OMG! Who knew boneless, skinless chicken breasts could taste so good! My husband said this was one of the best chicken dishes we've ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymakin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I started making this based on its 25 minute ready time one day that i was starving....didnt realize it would take me more than 2 hours to get to eat it because of refrigeration time! I thought it was too salt and felt like a lot of work. My husband really liked it, but I wont be making this one again. rather just do my usual breaded chicken that is quicker and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe is amazing! The kids had seconds. Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
The chicken breasts were very satisfactory. In cooking whole breast pieces in oil at 350F, I found the breading burned before the interior was cooked. I either needed to turn the pieces more often or I might fillet the breasts to make them thinner to cook faster. I wonder if the oil temperature could be reduced after the coatings have browned on both sides without danger of the coating becoming oil-saturated. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
We really liked this recipe! The only change I made was to use almond flour instead of regular flour. It added a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSKENNYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Thought this would be just another fried chicken recipe, but it was so much more! Very tasty, didn't even need any sauces or gravy with this recipe. Hubby and I agreed this is a definite keeper! (Although I did use onion powder and garlic powder instead of the salts and added a dash of salt and paprika to the flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Browneyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was pretty good all things considered. I tweaked it a little as I went by adding a favorite spice mix to the flour. The next time I make it I will double dredge the chicken as others have mentioned, and will make it on a weekend so time isn't such an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This my have had 4 and a 1/2 or maybe even 5 but that prep time is atrociously inaccurate. I do understand that you can do other things in the down time but it' still not a 25 minute meal. All told it takes an hour 30-45. It's worth it but if I actually only had half an hour I would be raging tempest about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States