Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Chef John, this dish is one of the many reasons you are my favorite Chef. This dish is 5 star awesome! Prepared exactly as your video, it was easy and everyone absolutely, hands down loved every bite! Even my picky eaters ate every bit and wanted more. *I also prepared it using Gluten Free Bisquick instead of flour, onion powder instead of onion salt & Canola oil instead of vegetable. PERFECT! THIS IS A MUST MAKE DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not enough water for that large amount of chicken, but absolutely the moistest wonderful chicken. The salt water brine is the trick to making the moistest chicken,turkey or any other meat whether you bake. broil, roast, grill, or fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lubie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
can you leave off breading and put on grill better than frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
The family loved the juiciness of the meat. I used drumsticks, and they turned out good each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! 5 stars! I made minor adjustments based on reading all the reviews. Because there was a consistent theme of "too salty", I reduced the kosher salt to somewhere between 1/4 c and 1/8 c. and used garlic and onion powders instead of salts. This worked perfectly. **Keep in mind the recipe calls for kosher salt, so if you use table salt (Morton's, etc), it will yield a saltier meal than if you use kosher salt so you might back-off a bit more** So the breasts would cook thouroughly before burning the crust, I pounded the chicken to around 1" thickness. I will make them thinner next time as the crust was pretty dark by the time the internal temp raised to 155F. (watched Chef John's video and he recommends this temp as the internal temp will continue to rise to around 165F after being removed from the oil - which it did). The taste was superb! Very flavorful and moist. I will definitely make these again. Served with Cowboy potatoes from this site and a Kale Salad. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this and it was light and crispy. My new favorite way to make chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
IF you let these soak long enough, they are AMAZING. However, if your chicken is too thick, they have a hard time cooking through without really overdoing the outside coating. I would recommend using thinner breasts, and letting them soak in the brine at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I found it to be very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a recipe that I've wanted to try for quite a while. I rarely fry chicken (seriously, it has been years), and after looking at the stove and the mess in the kitchen, I know why. However, this one's worth the cleanup. Dumb, dumb, dumb, and that's what I'm calling myself, should have known better. Had very large (actually HUMONGOUS) chicken breasts, and I either should have pounded them out a little or sliced them horizontally. My chicken breast was so thick that it ended up over-browning to reach the magical 165. Not to worry, it still tasted good. Who knew a boneless chicken breast could taste like good old fried chicken??? It was a nutritional splurge and caloric treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have had limited success with fried chicken, but I had skinless chicken breasts and needed something interesting to do with them. This caught my eye since it had such an interesting brine. WOW! The brine really was easy and did really leave a tiny hint of sweetness and certainly juiciness. I didn't have buttermilk and scrambled to create some with low-fat milk and vinegar with 1 T of butter whipped into it. That worked well and the breading was perfect (though I did cheat and add maybe 1/4 of italian bread crumbs to the mix for crunch). My breading stayed on, but my oil was a little too hot to start, so I had to flip more than once to keep from burning. Family LOVED it so much! In fact the daughter who dunks everything in Ranch dressing wished she hadn't put it on top the chicken because it was so good without it. I don't know if this would ever be a regular since it does take some prep, but on a Sunday when I have the time to do the brine and the buttermilk soak I'll remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States