Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Prep time is far off since this goes in the fridge for 1 hour, soaks in buttermilk for 15 minutes, cooks and cools for at least 25 minutes, so plan on about 1 and a half hours or so... I used light cream instead of buttermilk, and after cooking the chicken reduced the juices and cooked coating mixture left in the pan with some white wine and a bit more light cream to make a tasty sauce. Very good served over garlic mashed potatoes, only problem is that it is not a super fast meal because of the prep time. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and the breading fell off and what was left was no where close to fried chicken. It's to bad too, I had high hopes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
CDC just came out and said salt is not bad for you!!! Rush was right, again!! I soaked it all night and man!! ... what a moist piece of chicken. Fabulous recipe chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was a great recipe that the whole family loved. Just make sure you allow plenty of time to do the "resting" otherwise your dinner might not be served until close to bedtime. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
For a Kosher substitution for milk/buttermilk, I used 1/4 cup of almond milk with one-half teaspoon white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Wow! Great recipe. I used half breast with ribs, so I had to cut them in half so they would cook to the correct temp - had to used a thermometer because they were so thick. I did remove the skin and these came out juicy and o so flavorful. A winning recipe! Thanks Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was delicious and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The whole purpose of brining is to help the white meat be more tender and flavorful. Keep in mind that you discard the brine after the meat has marinated in it for an hour. Only a tiny bit is absorbed into the meat. The salt is what helps the meat hold it's moisture. If you marinate it more than an hour it will probably be saltier. IF you cut back on the salt there is no real need to brine it so don't bother. I made this exactly like the recipe called for and it was not salty at all. It was delicious and moist. I usually cut my chicken breast in half horizontally instead of pounding them. Each breast is like less than an inch thick. It makes cooking them easier and it helps cut the portion size down. Letting it sit for 5 minutes after cooking also helps the meat hold it's moisture. This is an awesome recipe. My family loved it, it was moist and very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Loved it. Really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I found it to be too salty. I will make again ,but with less salt. Very good breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States